Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Gretna, LA
Students enrolled: 235

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Anthony School 2

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
I believe that the principle is the head of any good school. St. Anthony finally has a strong principal, but the staff doesn't cater to students of diverse races. There are no programs to inform students of their history. If the children s parents do not have any alphabets behind their name and are from low income families, you are not treated fairly. Most of the students have trouble in the classes and teachers offer little assistance to them. There are hardly any extracurricular activities. Some of the faculty needs to retire or update their teaching skills to accommodate the students that they teach. Students are graded so hard and are given little chance at success. Where is the nurturing spirit in their VISION STATEMENT they refer to in their handbook.

St. Anthony School 4

Posted January 06, 2010
- a student
I went to this school from pre-k3 to the 8th grade. It was challenging and stressful at times but i mostly did enjoy going to school every morning. They make it easy to get involved and be active in the little amount of sports and clubs. A lot of the rules are kind of unfair but you learn to cope with them (no finger nail polish, no make-up till 8th grade and even then it has to be light, and other rules such as this). Oh and the mothers who helped out when i was there Loved to pick their kids as the stars in Everything so the always hurt. I truly miss this school and wish all the years didn't go by as fast as they did.


St. Anthony School 2

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Anthony School 1

Posted April 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Anthony School 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2008
- a parent
I have to agree that the office staff is very rude! I will comment later on the academic level of the school in the future.


St. Anthony School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2008
- a community member
Since the nuns have left, the school has gone downhill fast.The office staff is very rude and not willing to help in any situation.Very disappointing.

St. Anthony School 4

Posted April 10, 2008
- a parent
I am very happy with the staff and academics of this school. If we get the current leadership of HNM we will be leaving. Please do not ruin our school.

St. Anthony School 5

Posted March 30, 2005
- a parent
My son has attended St. Anthony since kindergarden . He has excelled academicaly as well as spiritualy. The teachers know each child on an individual basis because it is small classes. Everyone know everyone and supports them.


St. Anthony School 4

Posted April 30, 2004
- a parent
Both of my sons have attended this school since they were 3 years old. Classes are small and students are given a lot of extra attention. Students receive an excellent, personal education at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Anthony School
900 Franklin Avenue, Gretna, LA  70053
(504) 367-0689
Last modified St. Anthony School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Anthony School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top