Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Jefferson High School 2

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
I can't stand it, there's nothing being done with the racism and ignorance, the principal doesn't care about the minorities especially hispanic/latino students who are all categorized as "Mexicans," and plus ignorance is rewarded in the school, plus how is it that I as a student do all my homework, study, take notes everyday has the same grade as a student who doesn't do anything at all, like literally the grading method sucks giving lazy students an A isn't right, they should worry about setting boundaries towards all of these problems instead of the bathroom schedule.

West Jefferson High School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a teacher
I was a teacher in that school last year. The principal fakes grades to graduate students who did not complete their credits requirements. I provided documents showing changes of grades to the school board and to the superintendent. Nothing happened. The business as usual. The students graduate at a level well below 12th grade.


West Jefferson High School 1

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
hate it,,,,, i am truly disappointed in this school. My child cannot bring books home, because they only have classroom sets. But I would really love to know how much it costed to returf that football stadium. My child has repeatedly asked me why they have enough money for the athletic departments, but not enough to make sure every student has textbooks to bring home (to study or do homework). We teach our children that education is # 1, but the schools are not. Schools can say what they want, but children learn by example. What are they learning when they see a brand new football stadium, but not enough books to go around. From a concerned parent

West Jefferson High School 5

Posted September 17, 2008
- a student
I love West Jeff I went there last year n this summer I moved but I am coming back n cannot wait to see all the great teachers n students

West Jefferson High School 5

Posted May 13, 2008
- a student
from the first day i set foot in the halls i fell in love with Jeff and that will never change imma Buc for life


West Jefferson High School 1

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
I am truly disappointed in this school. My child cannot bring books home, because they only have CLASSROOM SETS. But I would really love to know how much it costed to returf that football stadium. My child has repeatedly asked me why they have enough money for the athletic departments, but not enough to make sure every student has textbooks to bring home (to study or do homework). We teach our children that education is # 1, but the schools are not. Schools can say what they want, but children learn by example. What are they learning when they see a brand new football stadium, but not enough books to go around. From a concerned parent

West Jefferson High School
no rating

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful Principal and Staff. I was kind of worried for my daughter to attend this school. As it turned out, my daughter had the best time of her life in her 3 years at WJHS!

West Jefferson High School 5

Posted January 22, 2007
- a student
I am not a parent. I graduated in the year 2002. I went to high school there for three years. The princpal at that time was great. The teachers would work with you whenever you needed the extra mile. ROTC was a great program and I loved it. Extracurricular activities were awesome. The best year was my senior year. It went by so fast. West Jefferson always will be in my heart. I no longer live in New Orleans but when I come visit I will make that extra stop.


West Jefferson High School 5

Posted April 19, 2006
- a student
I attended West Jefferson High School in my sophmore and Junior year. I was a cheerleader and loved cheering for our team. Because of Kathrina I am getting my diploma in San Antonio Texas. I am graduating with a 3.59 and I contribute most of my accomplishment to the teachers at West Jefferson High School. Especially Ms. McLendon my English teacher who told me never to give up. I am currently taking Pre-Cal.thanks to Mr. Falcon and AP English and AP Physic thanks to Ms. Woods. I will always be a BUC at heart. Our principal at West Jeff, Mr. Geer, is the best. Lots of Love, Erica Folino

West Jefferson High School 4

Posted December 03, 2005
- a student
I currently attend WJ, since after the storm my school was closed. This school has completely made me feel welcomed.I am now in ROTC ehich is a rewarding experience. I appreciate the teachers and all other staff members. They are doing a great job, and im proud to be a Buc!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Jefferson High School
2200 8th Street, Harvey, LA  70058
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (504) 368-6055
Last modified West Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top