Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broadmoor Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

Well, purchasing a home in this school district was a mistake since so many students do not live in the school district. The 2013-2014 school began with my son's Language Arts teacher quitting and the school bringing in various substitutes. Now we received his first progress report which contained an F in Language Arts. My wife makes him do extra school work and studying every evening and still these are the results. The progress report contained an incorrect absentee summary from last year. He had 6 full days marked absent when in fact he missed none. This school is very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

We moved to Livingston parish recently and my A/B Honor Roll son was so far behind because of the dated curriculum at Broadmoor. this is a great school according to Terrebonne Parish standards but not when you look at it compared to other parishes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

My son went for his 1st grade to this school. Wonderful experience. The teachers work around the clock to keep the students engaged. The principal, teachers and staff are very friendly and caring. Unfortunately, our family had to move to another state, but wish there are schools like this everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

My child has been going to Broadmoor for 4 years and I have never had any problems right down to her school uniform. Although we have encountered teachers that are more strict than the others, we use this as a learning experience. Yes, they have some that are just not suited for the grade level they are teaching and they have some that are perfect for that grade level. We have encountered wonderful and caring teachers within the last 4 years including the clunkers. My suggestion is instead of feeling like your child gets pick, you investigate more thoroughly and get to know the administration and then speak with them one on one about your concerns. Remember these are people just like you and me and it wouldn't hurt to say a few prayers for protection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

this school is very strict on their uniform policy . ive recieved numerious calls about nit picking details about my daughters uniforms . she had a red shirt on (thats school color) with a white under shirt on . i recieved a phone call becaude u could see the white tee shirt under the red by her neck line and that was against their school uniform policy . they also had a dress down day and yet i get another phone call saying what my daughter had on was innapropriate when it indeed was not in any way ! They have a picture in their office with two kids kissing ( bot and girl) and its suppose to be cute , but i think thats innapropriate ! but who cares about my oponion ?! also my child has gotten the A honor roll and i have never recieved any good comments on test papers , nor on the report card saying good job , or a pleasure to teach . this school is more worried about what the kids have on than awardeing them for good acidemics . if its a dress code violation , fine , but give the children some confidence instead of only acknowlegeing the bad or wrong .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

I agree with the fact that the teachers should have to follow the same dress code as the students. They say the uniform policy is in place to make everyone feel included and part of a 'team'. That team should include the teachers. My kids spent two years there and will possibly be there again this year. My only complaints are that they focus more on uniform violations than behavioral issues and they don't have a very good reward system. My kids started out at Oakshire and because they were rewarded for their accedemic successes, the kids performed better on testing and throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

The over crowding at this school has gotten out of hand post Katrina. My child has attened this school for a number of years, many of the teachers are great there are a few clunkers in there. They do not get enough recess time. Inspecting a child socks when wearing slacks (dress code) goes beyond all common sense, something sorely lacking at this school. Lowering conduct grades for such things as not remembering to zip up your back pack, or asks to use the restroom is absurd. There are no electronic communication abilities at this school, so no communication with teachers unless it's by phone. Again, Terrebonne parish schools are way behind the times at the cost of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

I am happy with the school. My complaints are few. I would like more organized P.E. Louisiana is the 2nd fattest state in America, but they only have 1 day of organized P.E. per week with a gym coach. Also, I wish that the teachers would follow the dress code that the students have to follow. Not uniforms for teachers, but belts on clothes with belt loops, shirts tucked in, closed toed shoes, collared shirts, etc. And I wish they would stop having the students say the Pledge of Allegiance in French.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

I think the school is excellent. The teachers really wants to make a differnce. My child/children teachers made sure that if they didn't understand a lesson they actually took the time and made sure they understand weather it was giving extra work or working one on one with them until they caught on to the lesson . the academic programs are great and so many to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 47%
Black 15% 45%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1010 Broadmoor Avenue
Houma, LA 70364
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 879-1042

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT