Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coteau-Bayou Blue Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 757 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

I have a sixth grader who attends here and has since kindergarten. Another who went there from his 2nd-6th grade years and also one that just started Pre-K this year. So I have had plenty experience with this school. It is a great little school. My kids have always done well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I hate this school...they claim every child needs pills or they cant handle it..if your kid dosent make all A's they say they are add/adhd, and want you to shove the pills down your childs throat..this school will call you at home just to ask if your kid has taken their "meds". if you are the type of parent that will let a stranger tell you something is wrong with your kid..then by all means here is the place for you..they want ur kids doped up so they can control them, instead of them doing real work...my daught is going to 6th grade next year, so glad she is almost done, i would move before i would let another child of mine go to this dump!! They always want money!! and if your the type of parent whom dosent want to medicate and try other things to help..they will call u everytime ur kids farts the wrong way...get ready make sure your child has only A's and B's cause is not they must be ADD!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I have 2 kids that go to this school, one in 2nd grade and one in Kindergarten. The 2nd grader loves her teacher and the teacher loves doing her job. She is learning alot in that classroom. After I got to know my sons kindergarten teacher and the administration it has been hell ever since. The teacher doesn't want to deal with anything, doesn't interact with the kids AT all. She has admited to us and the administration a few times on how she can't control the class, but they don't do anything at all about it. The kids are getting in trouble because the teacher doesn't know how to teach. The administration doesn't care about the kids nor what the parents see in a situation. They want to push you off. Every school will have there bad and good things in it. But this one I have only found one good thing about it, the times off they have. This school needs alot of work done to it, before my kids ever go back to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

I am a parent of a VERY hyper-active 5 yr. old son that is about to start Kindergarten with Coteau this year. I'd have to say his Pre-School year was horrifying and miserable for me because I knew he was a handful. After I got to know the teachers and administration I've seen that they really had their heart into making sure my son understood the rules and consequences and really made an effort to understand what makes him tick. My son has come a very long way behavior wise. He is very excited to be going back this year and I m pretty confident he'll do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

My son has autism and has been going to CBB for speech and toward the end of the school year started attending the prek class a couple times a week. His Teachers have worked wonders with him. He now loves to be around the kids and doesnt fuss as badly/or at all when we go to a new place. I am excited to have him going full time next school year. Everyone there is so understanding of him. They work so hard to help him be able to function normally. I love the fact that his class room is majority normal education students. They dont make me or him feel like he is any different than a normal child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I have two son in CBB. One in 1st and one in pre-k. We transferred here in august teacher rating is awesome. my 1st grader excelled immediately. my pre-k's teacher never has a complaint. my only concerns are that A.] pre-k has entirely too many 'field trips, that i think takes away from teach time and that the school does not invite parents but does not want to be responsible for any bad things that could happen. And B.] the school askes for money every week. They encourage the kids to go home and 'tell your parents to bring you here' ex:chucky cheese. My kids get home and cry bc i have to break their hearts i try to explain these things take money and planning its not just get up and go and that we have family night when we decide not the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

I have three kids that attend CBB a son in K, a daughter in 2nd and a son in 4th. They have the best teachers. The best administration. I refuse to move until my kids are finish with CBB
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

I am a parent of 2 daughters who attended CBB, one from K-6, and one from K-5, she is in 5th grade now, I could not ask for a better school. The teachers are wonderful, my oldest daughter wasn't the best student but her teachers always tried with her, my youngest who is still enrolled in CBB is very smart and well behaved and her teachers love her and make sure me and my husband know how well she does. She loves her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 47%
Black 21% 45%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 1%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tess Daigle
Fax number
  • (985) 868-4425

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2550 Coteau Road
Houma, LA 70364
Phone: (985) 868-4267

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT