Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Messiah Montessori

Private | PK-9 | 160 students

Montessori, International Faculty, and French/Spanish Language Immersion

 

Living in Houma

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 16, 2014

School is starting on Monday, August 18. As a teacher at Messiah Montessori, I am very excited to see the children and teach them new lessons that will help them grow. Messiah is a great school where the administration and teachers have a heart of love and compassion for the children. We go the extra mile. When you enter the building, you will experience a family atmosphere. Because of this atmosphere, the children love to learn and go beyond the norm. They love their school. This school is an asset to our community and a great example of Montessori education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2014

This school has blessed me and my family in ways inconceiveable through conventional training methods. By stepping out of the box and figuring out what naturally works in society for consensus and harmony, Messiah has created an entire generation of young people who not only "know" how to learn but they actually see learning as fluid and changing and constantly changing. These students inspire others to make life changes in approaches to everyday problems we all share. Messiah has educated my children's character; not just standardized facts and figures. They have "infected" me with teaching and parenting methods I would have otherwise not known of. This is a vision that, if properly nourished, can "infect" the entire world with wisdom and kindness -- naturally!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

They charge 1,000$ a year for a years prescription to Rosetta Stone which is manditory when you can order the complete Rosetta Stone program for a couple hundred dollars. After paying 5,000$ a year there are also no buses and threw-out the school year you are required to pay for extras including a 325$ fee for the spring gala, which you will then be asked to donate and buy auction items . Many expensive extras you will be required to pay for
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

Messiah Montessori is a model Montessori school with a great reputation in the national and state Montessori community. Other Montessori schools send their teachers and staff members to our school for learning experiences. Messiah Montessori School is an approved practicum site for Montessori Teacher Training Centers to train new Montessori teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 28, 2014

I go to this school and I think it is awesome! I like it because I like the materials. They help me learn a lot of cool things. I like that I can work with my friends. I really like math and science. I like recess and lunch too! I like my teachers and Pastor Jules because they are involved in the things I do and I feel like they support me. I just think every kid should like their school as much as I like mine.


Posted January 21, 2014

This school is fair at best. The school lacks leadership and is driven by money and profits. Many of the staff with children do not even send their children here. The teachers are decent but get burned out easily and there is a lot of turnover. Only a matter of time before the school goes completely under. Also try contacting other Montessori schools and they will tell you that Messiah Montessori is an emaressment to the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Messiah Montessori is a wonderful school with caring teachers and wise leadership that parents can trust with their children. Our Middle School student loves this school! Looking forward to his high school years at Messiah with its innovative College and Career approach to education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

At Messiah, you will find a school where children are treated with respect, the atmosphere is loving, and the learning possibilities are endless. Great teachers and great principals who truly believe in our children. Messiah is the "School of Choice" for the Houma region. Parents owe it to themselves and their children, to schedule a visit to Messiah to discover the school where children are happy and excited to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

Super protective parent of my only child I had at the age of 40. I prayed for her for a long time and God blessed us. This precious little girl loves Montessori. She looks forward to going every day. At 2 years old Montessori teachers have taught her to count to 20 in English and Spanish. She knows her colors in both languages. She knows the alphabet, numerous songs and is learning to write her letters - at 2! When she sang, "Jesus loves me this I know...." my husband and I were delighted. Thank you Montessori for giving us a faith based, safe, child focused environment for our blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

This school lacks leadership, the principal is in Paris going to school the majority of the school year. The do have difficulties in selecting and keeping teachers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

This school is fantastic! My two year old knows the globe and my three year old has started reading. If EVER one of them bonks their heads, I get a call immediately. If EVER any child is sick, we receive a print out notice letting parents know there is a possibility of our child getting it and what the symptoms are. My children are very independent as a result of this school. The teachers hug and love on the children as if they were their own. Best of all, they have valet pick up and drop off! The teachers bring the smaller children to their vehicles at pick up and get them from the cars at drop off--strap them in and everything. The BEST!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

This place has issues, philosophically. There are certain "ethics" that one should know before placing your child here: One, make sure that your baby, yes baby, can drink from a real cup or else s/he will a) drown themselves and b) be thirsty ALL DAY LONG. Two, do not say good-bye to your child. They frown at parents that 'linger' too long with a kiss and hug. Three, they have a network similar to that of the Gestapo; if you say something, anything, they keep tabs on it and put it in your child's "permanent record." Also, they do not like if you are interested in why, say, your kid has a new bruise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

We love the school. My child has flourished in an environment where everyone is accepted for who they are. Each child is treated with kindness and respect. It truly is individual education but in an environment that fosters community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

It is a graet school and I love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2008

I thank God every day for this school. The method is perfect and the teachers know each individual child which ables them to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This is my son's sixth year in the school and my daughter's third. My wife and could not be more pleased with how happy our children are in this environment. You can see they are learning and becoming so confident in who they are. Dr. Jules And Ms. Deborah are completely dedicated to the vision of this school and these children in hopes of developing excellent people and excellent students. We have enjoyed all the teachers that have helped are children grow and as the school expands we look forward to meeting the teachers that will come on staff. People working together in love and community always produce great results. Wow, what an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

My child was in this school for two years. In those two year 4 teachers were changed and 2 others were brought in mid-year. It seems that the teaching staff was more interested in teaching age advanced math and reading, not taking the time to make sure the child became well versed in the basics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

I love that no matter what 'grade' my child is in, she will be challenged at her individual level. The teachers are phenomenal, I couldn't ask for a better environment for my children to grow in. I would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Love it! Great environment...We Love the Montessori way. Our teachers are wonderful and we appreciate them with all of our hearts. Montessori not only offers a great way of education..it also instills self esteme, children working together..freedom of feelings and each childs individual way to express themselves. No other way of education can compare to what we have here. Our school is all about our children! The arts and music cannot compare to any other school. We are here to stay!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 47%
Two or more races 15% 1%
Black 5% 45%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr.Jules Boquet
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (985) 851-3116

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • French & Spanish Immersion
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Van
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Montessori Education is a Hands-on approach to learning in which the child learns "how to learn" and masters concepts of education in math, language and grammar, geography, science, art and other key subjects from an early age. Montessori educated children become independent learners who know how to excel and fulfill their educational potential.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
160
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1224 Museum Drive
Houma, LA 70360
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 857-8808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT