Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public
Independence, LA
Students enrolled: 541

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Independence High School 2

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
At meetings with the Principal and the Teachers at this school, I found the Principal to be arrogant. I found that most of the teachers were tenured and were unconcerned with my child's progress. I found this particularly true for Mathematics, Science, and Spanish. The Counselor was inefficient and made a great deal of mistakes with the scheduling of juniors and seniors. Parents must check to make sure your child has what is needed to graduate and meet TOPS requirements.

Independence High School 3

Posted January 25, 2011
- a teacher
The strength of this school is in its administration. They try their hardest to do good things with what they have. Some teachers are good. Others cater too much to the whims of the students or are just a little too comfortable. The main problem is the culture of the environment. Though most of the people are good-natured enough, the community is rooted in a general lack of education and motivation, there are too many teenage pregnancies, and too much concern over sports (sometimes at the expense of academics).


Independence High School 1

Posted October 29, 2009
- a student
I feel that Independence High School worries too much about the wrong things. They try to keep students out of school by suspending them over things like dress code. Last year I was supended 5 times over dress code. And the teachers don't really teach that good.

Independence High School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Independence High School 1

Posted December 06, 2008
- a student
I feel that Independence High School needs better teachers. I am a student at IHS and in my opinion some teachers can care less if a student is learning as long as they collecting a check they are content and this is for the principal and assistant principal as well. They focus more on your dresscode more than on your education and that can seriously waste a child's education.


Independence High School 2

Posted August 18, 2008
- a student
I feel that this school should do more to prepare their students for college and the real world. I'm an 'alumni' and my statement is a matter of fact.

Independence High School 5

Posted January 12, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Independence High School 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Independence High School 5

Posted March 29, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Independence High School 1

Posted August 07, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independence High School
270 Tiger Avenue, Independence, LA  70443
(985) 878-9436
Last modified Independence High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independence High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top