Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jonesboro-Hodge High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2012

To those who do read this Jonesboro-Hodge High School is not the best school in the state I admit but if you are only looking at one point of view this school has taught me a lot of thing that i will need to go on in life some people may talk bad about it but i bet if you ask them if they could go back to that school they would so please don't start judging JH-HS before you find out what is behind our doors ok thank you.


Posted August 10, 2012

This school system used to be like home to me. It was something I looked forward to, I love to learn. But now, it has become such an embarrasment. Everyone is always strict about the wrong things, such as; tucking in your shirt when there are students who are skipping class to go smoke in the outside bathroom; wearing white socks instead of the fact that half the teachers can't or don't control their students and their mouths; and my personal favorite, the fact that the high school's new "teaching plan" is for the students to teach themselves and the TEACHERS are just outside observers.


Posted May 1, 2010

I am shocked at the number of positive reviews of this school! Anyone who believes that the academics are 'excellent' isn't very observant. The athletics are good. I don't believe that 'if they want to learn they have the opportunity and will be prepared for college.' There are some great teachers, but there are so many disruptions from students who don't care (which seem to make up the majority of the student body) that no student who wants to learn will be able to. As a former student, I can testify that if you just want a school where you can play sports and easily pass all your classes, J-H is the place. However, if you want to be academically challenged, you should look elsewhere. It's not ALL bad, but academics is certainly not its strong point. With a good principal, disciplinary action, and some more funding, it could be fine.


Posted April 22, 2010

excellent school from academics to athletics. its not a bad school unless your child makes it that way. if they want to learn they have the opportunity and will be prepared for college!!! Comming from a student at jonesboro-hodge class of 2012!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

jonesboro-hodge is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

It's an ok school, but not really a school that will be able to prepare it's students for college.


Posted September 30, 2008

I do believe that this is a great school and the administration does the best that can with what they have available. Keep up the great work JHHS Administration and Teachers!!!!!!!!!!


Posted October 4, 2007

this school is not fare, studients are treated diffrently, depending on whos kid you are!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

im a student at this school and i hate it. there is nothing for us to do and we dont learn anything. there are too many fights and i would move in a second if i had the chance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2006

Hi, I'm a student at Jonesboro-Hodge and our school is changing drastically. We have a new better principal(Mrs.Bertha Robinson) and she has brought so much to the school. We have pep rallies again, a band, and a new theatre department. Our teachers are fantastic and the students are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2005

I feel that JHHS can give quality education for the amount of resources that they receive. The reason I feel this way is because of my children's test scores on the leap and gee. The main problem with this school is lack of funding. I believe that people of Jackson Parish should come together and have one high school that would provide more educational opportunities for all children of Jackson Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
8%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
10%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
0%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
12%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 72% 45%
White 27% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bertha Robinson
Fax number
  • (318) 259-2701

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

225 Pershing Highway
Jonesboro, LA 71251
Phone: (318) 259-4138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Weston High School
Jonesboro, LA





Bienville High School
Bienville, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT