Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2013

Bonnabel is a decent school. The education is acceptable and if your child seems more advanced than most others, they can easily switch to all honors classes. Switching classess is very easy and the couselors are quite generous. The teachers are experenced and good educators. There are deans patroling the school at all times so the area is secure. The school size is very big. There are plenty of students and plenty of space for them. It's almost like a mini college, thining about the size. There's a 50 minute lunch where you may wonder around outdoors and eat in- or outside. There's four periods, lunch being between second and third. The school is overall acceptable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

This school offers a great overall HS experience. I was impressed with the Freshman orientation. It was informative. There are plenty of clubs and sports teams available. There are programs that encourage your children to attend college. The Principal and staff truly care about the children. The school has great school pride. The test scores are fairing decent versus the district overall. Oh, and there is a clinic on-site!....and its free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

At first I never thought Bonnabel would be such a great school, but now being a Freshman I can say this school is probably one of the most spirited oriented High Schools in Jefferson Parish. I'm proud to be a Bruin!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2009

It is the only high school in Kenner and the staff does a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

this school is not good at all. they have too may free periods and they teachers and dean focus too much on the students apperance
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2009

thiis shool is the best i have ever went to and it teachs the kids well. it also have greateducation levels
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2009

Its been a great year for me with all the teachers and the principal really trying to make a diffrence in us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2008

Its like a home to me. Sophomore and loving it. 2 more and planning on spending the rest there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

Going to be a great school from 2008- so on. I really am having fun there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

My experience as a Bonnable High School student was quite unpleasant. Most teachers were very lazy and authoritarian. More emphasis is put on enforcing uniform rules than in actually teaching something. There is little place for personal expression. Overall, this school has failed its purpose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

My son has said that he likes A. Bonnabel school better than his previous school. He has had to change schools due to the permit issue. His grades have been A's and B's in all classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Great school all around...caring teachers, student diversity. No. 1 in Jefferson Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

Did not enforce rules for certain students. Did not treat students equally. Felt there was reverse discrimination at this school. Could have done more to counsel those kids who lost everything in Hurricane Katrina. Kids were allowed to smoke in parking lot (witnessed with my own eyes). Buses were extremely unreliable and many days never showed up in the morning or the afternoon. This caused a huge safety and inconvenience issue with my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

I went to Bonnabel for 5 years from August 1999 until May 2004 when I graduated. Bonnabel is a good school in almost every way possible. It has good education, good sports, and caring teachers. There just needs to be better discipline.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 23, 2006

Bonnabel High School has the most ethnic and cultural diversity of any schools in the surrounding area. This helps to prepare students for the adult job market more than most other schools. The teaching staff is genuinely concerned with the welfare and educations of their students. Discipline is upheld and student safety is a high priority on Bonnabel's campus. Also, the Foreign Language and Gifted/Talented programs at Bonnabel are exceptional. If your child is interested in learning French, then he/she is in luck because Ms. Bedoucha is by far the most caring and inspirational teacher I have ever the pleasure of knowing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2005

In reference to the June 2004 comment regarding Vocational curriculum at Bonnabel: There is a growing need for vocational curriculum due to the need of students in the community who have plans to enter the industrial/trade, business/commercial, and health fields who do not plan to attend a 4-year College or University. It is our duty as professionals to design curriculum that meets the need of those students. Bonnabel has a highly-trained staff in the Gifted and Talented Program and is still providing quality instruction, designed to prepare the gifted student for their prospective careers. Therefore, we encourage our gifted students to continue to have the faith in the progressive design of our current curriculum and schedule.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2005

Bonnabel is one of the most talented, extraordinary schools my son has ever attended. I recently moved from New York because of a job. First I sent him to Grace King. He didn't like the neglegant attitude of the teachers and the strictness of the administration. When I visited I even found some sense of racism so, I sent my son to Bonnabel. He says he has the time of his life. He says the teachers are nice and they attually pay attention to the students. While in new York, my sons grades were low. After sending him Bonnabel his grades have remarkably improved. I have to say, if your child stays in Metairie you should send he/she to Bonnabel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

I go to Bonnabel and I will probably be the 2005 valedictorian. I love Bonnabel. Although, some people give a not so excellent reputation, you still have, as at every school, intelligent people who want to succeed at school and in life. I think that, especially if your child is smart, you should send him/her to Bonnabel It will teach him/her to focus, but he/she will have a lot of fun. He/she will also receive personal attention and respect from the faculty. Bruin pride! Black, white, gold!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2004

I was once a student at Bonnabel High School, and now my children are. Bonnabel has always held a certain level of excellence, and I still see that today. My children have become bright, shining young adults, that have their eyes set on the goals that their teachers place before them. I am proud to say that my children, and I am proud bruins, and down the road, I am sure that my children will send their children to Bonnabel as well. To the staff at BHS, congradulations on a job well done!!! your care and concern for our children are not to be exceeded by any other!! bruin pride!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 17, 2004

I think Bonnabel High School is a great school with a well trained staff. This school not only give thier student the core skills they need they also provide trades for the student so that they have job skill when they leave Bonnabel. We must face that not all student are college bounded and many of time school leave those students behind not giving them other options, but I think Bonnabel is doing a great job by making sure they meet all of their students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

446 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

446 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
31%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 45%
Hispanic 35% 4%
White 19% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:40pm
School Leader's name
  • John Kulakowski
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (504) 443-3401

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 Bruin Drive
Kenner, LA 70065
Phone: (504) 443-4564

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Heritage Academy
Metairie, LA


Ecole Classique
Metairie, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT