Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
176 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was and is thirsty for knowledge.and they didn't give her anything near her level or enough stuff of the lower level to keep her busy or save her from boredom.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
With the way they handle situations, the kids have to fend for themselves. They don't have time to worry about anyone else.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
They don't hold everyone accountable for their actions or to the same standards as the person next to them. Everyone involved in an incident should have their behavior chart color changed not just one person. When a child comes to you with a problem, listen and solve it. Don't just blow it off or make them feel like its their fault or problem.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 1

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter mastered confidence her first 3 semesters of school and her whole life before attending this school. Her final report card reported the opposite. They allowed my daughter to be bullied and sit bored in class to the point her personality change. They then punished her for it. (She is now reserved with people who have known her her entire life. She also hides behind me and is no longer independent. She borders on needy.) She acted out because of that. The principal tried to blame us and said none of it was the schools fault. FYI: GIFTED IS SPECIAL EDUCATION. They don't tell you this nor can they necessarily spot it but they make sure you sign papers that say they can't handle Special Education.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
They are not effective at all. They can't figure out what's going on with the kids they are with all day long.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
There was an employee that flat out told me to get my daughter out of the school, to take her somewhere else. In hindsight, I realized another one implied the school wasn't capable of dealing with her.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
How can a student respect the adults when they allow students to give "love licks" daily and the person hit gets in trouble for defending themselves or the student is ignored when they are telling them about being bullied and no one talks to the bully or the parent of the bully? They don't even tell the parent of the bullied. You have to wait til your kid tells you or you figure it out.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
OLPH has been such an incredible disappointment. We moved from our previous parish which was an incredible school and great parish which split all fund raising proceeds between parish and school evenly, to this. Our first grader's teacher is great, however the school leadership and parish are not even close to par. Poorly planned fund raising events, only a single (half baked) school trip all year with no planned transportation, etc...a Pastor who appears only to care about funding his personal projects and not the welfare of the students. We will not be continuing with OLPH.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 2

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
This will be my son's last year, at this school. He's been here since pre-K and he used to love it. The personnel changes started when he was in third grade. We came back after the summer and all but a few (2 or 3) of the original teachers were still there. Now, it's every year you are just hoping to see familiar faces, to no avail. I still love the school and the staff (the ones I know) but this is not a stable place for my son. Very disappointing.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted January 06, 2013
- a community member
This school is fantastic! It is SACS Accredited, and has wonderful, caring, and knowledable teachers. It is multicultural, and treats all students, faculty and staff with respect and dignity. It gives your child a well-rounded education while teaching your child about God, and creating in him/her a lifelong love of learning and a relationship with God. The school also offers many extracurricular activities.I highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
531 Williams Boulevard, Kenner, LA  70065
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (504) 464-0531
Last modified Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top