Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
692 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ascension Episcopal School 2

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Everyday we had the hardest time to get our kid to go to school at Ascension. He hated school. We switched to woodvale elem, best thing we ever did , Much better school, better teachers, My kid now loves school

Ascension Episcopal School 5

Posted May 15, 2016
- a student
I am a student at AES currently. I am a freshmen and have been at AES since 8th grade. Ascension is such an amazing school and there is no other school like it. The love that flows through the school is amazing and all the teachers want to be there. There are many opportunities and sports at AES it is wonderful. The growth in our school is tremendous and it is still going. Being a blue gator is such a great feeling and I'm proud to be one. The academics are amazing, aswell. Teachers will work with you and help you. GO BIG BLUE! AES is a student-led school in a sense of leadership like prefects and leader ship team. Yes, the teachers and faculty run the school but the students have a loud voice!


Ascension Episcopal School 2

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
Don't believe the hype, my son transferred to AES for High School. We were told be multiple sources within the school, how they will work with students to help ensure their success, how extra work is available for all students. That's B.S. my son has asked every teacher there for extra credit, has stayed after school to get help and is still struggling to make honor roll. We will be transferring to another private school next year. You can make B's for a lot less tuition elsewhere.

Ascension Episcopal School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
Ascension Episcopal School (formerly Ascension Day School), is by far the most inclusive and individualized school in Lafayette. They offer the most personalized and rewarding education to all of their students. The average class size is around 12 students, this allows for a very personalized classroom experience and makes it possible for students to have a close and healthy relationship with their teachers. They also hold their teachers accountable and will not keep a poorly-performing teacher, they will instead, replace any poorly performing teachers with a highly-performing teacher. They have a 0% dropout rate, a 100% college-acceptance rate and many graduates have been accepted and attend ivy-league colleges. There is no other school in the area that cares as much for the students as Ascension Episcopal School. The learning environment is fantastic and the social atmosphere is nothing but nurturing. Parents are very involved in both school activities and are more than encouraged to attend all school events and activities. Ascension helps their students more than any other school in the area in terms of making sure they stay on track in their academic and extracurricular lives.

Ascension Episcopal School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful, dedicated school.... outstanding new facility (high school) and challenging, driven environment... couldn't be happier with the success we've had since our daughter has been at this school...


Ascension Episcopal School 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
Ascension is a wonderful school with a creative, caring, and dedicated faculty. The school offers a pre-k through 12 th grade opportunity. The academic reputation is strong and AES continues to instill great core values in their students! Very proud that my children have this opportunity.

Ascension Episcopal School 5

Posted September 17, 2011
- a community member
Ascension Episcopal School provides students with academic excellence in a christian environment. I've never seen a school treat each child with such individual attention and loving care. The lower school head and staff are the best faculty in the state.

Ascension Episcopal School 3

Posted September 15, 2010
- a community member
Severe verbal bullying problems, particularly among girls. Lack of discipline in lower school. Much of bullying comes from this lack of structure both in classroom behavior and in discipline program. They say, "Structure inhibits creativity." Evidence: Lack of structure encourages bullies. The school has been in state and local newspaper and TV headlines in recent months due to serious problems with key staff.


Ascension Episcopal School 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Very dissatisfied with lower school headmaster; but very satisfied with educators

Ascension Episcopal School 4

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
As of the middle school, I have been very pleased. The importance of the child comes first. Very open to communication with parents and feel like they can handle any issue that comes up. Now my Preschool experiance has been a nightmare to say the least. The principal is cold and heartless. These children are still babies in my eyes and should be cared for in a sensitive manner. I feel like they want a easy child one that doesn't take extra effort. I'm confused on my decision to keep him bc I know the middle school will be more willing to help him succeed. I think the Preschool needs new Leadership immediatly!!!

Nearby schools

Ascension Episcopal School
1030 Johnston Street, Lafayette, LA  70501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (337) 233-9748
Last modified Ascension Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top