Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Lafayette, LA
Students enrolled: 570
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
Amazing school. My child has been to 5 different school and this was her favorite one by far. She was in the French Immersion program and learned sign language in the first grade! We LOVE this school!!!

S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
all 5 of my kids have gone to this school. I have 3 of them there at this time and I think it is a fantastic school


S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 3

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 3

Posted January 08, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attends this school in the French immersion program. She loves her classmates and her French teacher very much. I have been pleased with the French immersion program at this school and I find that the French teachers work very hard with studends on their academics; above and beyond what is probably required. However, time and time again, I have been deeply dissapointed and confused by the administrative staff. They seem to be unconcerned about academics and place a higher value on cerimonial issues such as carnivals and award cerimonies that the parents are not even invited to. The administrative staff is also seemingly uninterested in feedback or any slight suggestion on improvements to their operational systems such as 'car-rider' pick up, etc.

S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 2

Posted March 10, 2005
- a parent
This school has been a disappointment. My child is dyslexic. Her reading level has been below for three years. She has received reading tutoring for years and it hasn't helped. The school should try another program, but doesn't. SJM does not find ways to help students improve.

S.J. Montgomery Elementary School 4

Posted September 22, 2003
- a parent
I have first and second graders at this school. Both come home excited to talk about new studies and how much fun they have learning. My second grader is doing very well in Math and reading. First grader is learning very well. I really think the reading program is a great tool. The teacher I have met are very helpfull and easy to work with. The principal is very kind and approchable and listens to the interests of the parent. I feel confident that my children will get a good education at this school. The teachers my children have are fun respectfull patient and educated. I would like our school to have perfoming arts program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

S.J. Montgomery Elementary School
Women's Clinic: Foreman Michael MD, Lafayette, LA  70506
(337) 521-7750
Last modified S.J. Montgomery Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
S.J. Montgomery Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top