Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northside High School

Public | 6-12 | 852 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

Northside isn't a school that anyone should ever have to go,it's CHS ten times worse.A teens highschool life should be a great experience and if they go here they'll catch nothing but hell.I personally know people who have went here and their mom switched them.


Posted November 7, 2013

I think others should know that Northside is not what people say or think it is Northside is a very great school.... You learn like any other school... I've been to Northside for 2 years when Ms.V was their she is a good principle she ha showed and taught us good discipline.. I would recommend this school to anyone.. Our band is good and our athletes are very committed and smart... Northside is a very good learning Environment...


Posted February 26, 2010

Here at Nhs we learn our curriculum and we do that very well! People portray us as idiotic, undisciplined students when we are the complete OPPOSITE. My G.P.A has reached a 3.9 in all HONORS classes and no other school, person, or newspaper article can take that away from me or my wonderful school! Our sports are excellent but so is our academics!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2008

This is my last year at northside ('09). I would highly recommend this school to anyone. Besides I think I speak for everyone when I say, 'Mr. Handy is the best principle ever.' Besides the bad things the news may show...We are excellent an we inproved a lot. They just fail to realize that Northside has its ups and downs like any other school...But overall we can achieve anything we set our minds to!!!! :) :) :) -Miss Bossier
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

i love northside! we are the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2007

Northside is by far the worst school in Lafayette. I entered Northside in 2001. I wouldnt recommend this school to anyone. In classes they teach the bare minimum if anything at all. Anything I learned I learned on my own in my personal time. Teachers spend more time either talking about nothing or dealing with problem students. The only good thing I got out of Northside was by attending the Technology Academy. For a quality education I would recommend other schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 20, 2007

My son attends Northside High School and is enrolled in the Engineering Academy. Students in this program must qualify academically to gain entry. They are exposed to college preparatory course work along with classes in drafting, technology and business. My sister is also a graduate of Northside High School. She has done extremely well and is currently a practicing attorney in Lafayette, Louisiana. The current administrative team is warm and welcoming. They encourage students to do their best rather than using strict discipline tactics. My son came to NHS from a small Catholic School. His transition was smooth thanks to NHS's wonderful administrators, faculty and staff and families. Not only does NHS excel in athletic extracurricular, it also offers many opportunities in academic extracurricular activities. A special word of praise should go to Ms. Spikes for her dedication and hard work with one of Lafayette's first academies - NHS's Engineering Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

Northside IS a VERY educational school. It even boasts one of the finest sports program in lafayette, AND the best football team. As for book learning, students learn much from going to northside. There's classes from judo to computer programming, piano, and even stitching and artwork.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

234 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

234 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
0%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
12%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
6%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
6%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
19%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
n/a
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 45%
White 5% 47%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carlton Handy
Fax number
  • (337) 521-7991

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Dunand Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
Website: Click here
Phone: (337) 521-7990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sts. Leo-Seton School
Lafayette, LA



N. P. Moss Annex
Lafayette, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT