Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Lake Charles, LA
Students enrolled: 368

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at EDS. We absolutely love it!! My son is in kindergarten this year and the class ratio is 12:1. EDS is diverse and a christian environment. This school also offers Spanish K-8 which I love because most schools offer French. EDS strongly encourages parent participation as well. Although the tuition is very expensive ($735 a month) without financial assistance. EDS is a very good school and it's more advance than most schools in Lake Charles! Your basically getting a Texas Education in Louisiana!

Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
-small class sizes -caring teachers -differentiated materials -pre-ap strategies in middle school -includes many community projects and environmental activities


Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
My childrens' school goes above and beyond to meet the needs of all the children at the school. I have two gifted children, one of whom also has a learning disability, dyslexia. The school has one of its' favorite teachers working with the children who need extra help in a small cluster group and yet this same child is allowed to go to gifted programing in order to feel 'smart', which he is. The school seem to understand the key factor in helping ALL children is to build their self-esteem and confidence in order to be successful. The schools' outlook is to allow all the children to experience every imaginable extra- curricular activity in the hopes that the child will find their own niche. This confidence building allows these kids to tryout for chess, singing solo, newspaper-writing, cheerleading, football etc. I'm sure that all schools strive to accomplish this, it's just sheer joy to see it in action as a child's gifts are drawn out. The schools' staff is extremely dedicated and so many of the teachers wear 'different hats' to become coaches, leaders, middle school dance chaperones and mentors. The principal works tirelessly to write grants in order to secure money so that our school can have the latest, greatest equipment to help our children. Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School is the best!

Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
I absolutely feel that this is the best school in SWLA. They offer such great opoportunties for kids. The class sizes are small so each child gets an opportunity to participate in the classroom. The academics are second to none. My children are happy everyday to go to school. The teachers are so nuturing and teach them way more than just academics. They teach them how to be a good person. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a family environment where you will be welcomed to your child's classroom at any time!

Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted June 06, 2009
- a student
I love EDS! It has fun activities for children of all ages. Each year more and more students come and go. From tutoring, sports, hands-on activities, field trips, and summer programs, EDS is a great private school to send your children. Just ask me! I joined on in the experience. Even take it from a 11 year old!


Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted March 03, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted December 29, 2006
- a parent
I love EDS. My son is in Pre K 4 there and they do so many fun activities. He is learning so much and looks forward to going everyday. The school is like our family.


Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School 5

Posted January 11, 2005
- a parent
EDS is an oasis in an academic desert. Classes are small, there is much attention to academic excellence, character building, community service, hands-on activities and good old fashioned caring for each other. Tuition is higher than other area schools but the value for the educational dollar makes EDS a bargain. The true value comes after a student graduates and goes to high school and college. The attention to academic detail allows EDS students to go nearly anywhere they choose for boarding schools, selective summer programs etc. It's a great place for children to learn and parents to know one another and be active in their children's lives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School
803 North Division Street, Lake Charles, LA  70601
(337) 433-5246
Last modified Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top