Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Lake Charles, LA
Students enrolled: 308
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My child got into this school this year and it is such a wonderful school! Very often she will say "I had a great fun day today" or "Today is the best day ever!" She adapted herself to the new school so soon and came to love it in such a short time. And I love its curriculum. All in all, it's a 5-start excellent place!

T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted April 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted October 25, 2007
- a parent
I absolutely love this school...my daughter was attending private school, but after I heard about T.S. Cooley's program I immediately checked into it. They really encourage children to learn by keeping their interests perked! The music and art program is wonderful and the teachers and staff really make you feel like you're a part of your child's education. I highly recommend T.S. Cooley to any parent! A +++

T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
TS Cooley provides a quality elementary education. My children have received outstanding instruction from the best teachers in the Parish. Every teacher has worked to tailor teaching to individual students. Music, PE, and art are strong components of a very well rounded curriculum. Principal provides strong leadership. The smiles on the faculty and staff's faces are a testament to her leadership. Parents are very involved. The library is incredible. I cannot say enough in regard to the quality of education my children have received at Cooley. This school is not really for 'smart' children, it is for motivated children and parents who place a premium on education.


T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted June 22, 2004
- a parent
This is the best elementary school in the district. My daughter was advanced when it was time to start kindergarten and I was worried that public school wouldn't challange her enough to hold her interest. Wrong! Awesome teachers who really care. Only wish it went on after 5th grade!

T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted June 15, 2004
- a parent
This school is wonderful! They help foster learning for life by teaching children from several different angles & approaches, so no matter what learning style suits your child, they thrive at school. Parents are encouraged to volunteer, and they have an extremely active PTO! This school allows parents to truly have a say in their child's educational experience - a quality that I haven't found the equal to in any other Calcasieu Parish school. The only downfall is trying to integrate these students back into the average public middle schools and high schools, as there is currently no magnet program offered at those age levels. In my opinion, T.S.Cooley Elementary is hands down the best foundation for your child's education offered in Calcasieu Parish today!

T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This is the best school if you are interested in having your child attend a school that fosters the love of learning. The only draw-back is that there are not true middle or high school magnet schools currently available in the Calcasieu Parish school system.


T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted July 17, 2003
- a community member
TS Cooley is an excellent start in your child's education. The teachers, principal, and staff really care for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School
2711 Common Street, Lake Charles, LA  70601
(337) 217-4680
Last modified T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top