Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Lake Charles, LA
Students enrolled: 490
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a community member
My two grandchildren are in this school, one in first grade and one in pre-K. The teachers and administration are outstanding. They are always finding ways to improve the children's learning experience. Very very happy Grandmother.

Dolby Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful school! My child is currently in 3rd grade and we have had many wonderful teachers. Plus the office staff and administrative team are always communicating with parents and are willing to work together for what is in your child's best interests!


Dolby Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
This school has really lifted my child's level in English.The Principal and teachers are role models.There's discipline in the school.It's highly recommended for their high performance.

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! He is in first grade this year and doing well. Last year we had Ms. Phelps, she was wonderful with him. He misses her and would love to have her again this year, but she didn't move up. I'm sure Ms. Ramsey will be just as good.

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
Dolby is excellent at incorporating technology into the curriculum to keep students engaged regardless of their preferred learning style (smart board, learning centers, etc). The teachers focus on positive reinforcement and discipline to keep students motivated and on task. I couldn't ask for a better school for my picky 4 year old. Even he loves it!


Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2006
- a parent
My daughter began pre-k at Dolby and she is now in the second grade. We absolutely love Dolby. The teachers are great, the learning environment is wonderful. The school strikes a great balance. Congratulations Dolby!

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attended Dolby for 4 years. She ha a great experience there. Dolby had achievement awards across the board to encourage the kids. The Foreign Lanuage, Art, and Music programs she loved. They really push reading levels. And it is no wonder the school as so...good with theire President being voted top president for several years.


Dolby Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2004
- a parent
My daughter started this school in grade-K. She could not recognize any of her alphabets, numbers, vowel sounds, and her hand writing was awful. I know that this school teaches on a regular public school program but it is better then any other school she has went to. Her pre-K year, she attended John J. Johnson elementary and that school was just horrible and out of control. I requested that Nylah would beable to attend a cross country school and this was the best thing I could have ever done for her. She was beginning to become corrupt like the other students at John J. Johnson but her teacher Mrs. Houston at Dolby new exactly how to help me line up her behavior and educational wise. I was afraid to let her go to a predominantly white school but they treated her fair and equal. Dolby is awesome!

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2004
- a parent
We love this school! We feel that Dolby gave our children the best possible start for their school years. The teachers are the best! They are very caring and concerned, knowledgeable, and energetic. They are always the first or one of the first area school to implement new statewide programs and goals. Parents are very involved with the school through their children and the individual teachers. Parent-teacher and parent-teacher-student conferences are available and encouraged. All teachers, office staff, cafeteria staff, and other support workers are always up-beat, energetic, and there for the children at all times. The atmosphere upon entering the school is warm, caring, and inviting. The school receives a wonderful school report card every year! The achievements of the students make this possible. The teachers encourage class participation, completion of all homework, 'Accellerated Readers' program, and the ease of taking tests by making them similar to the classwork.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dolby Elementary School
817 Jefferson Drive, Lake Charles, LA  70605
(337) 217-4730
Last modified Dolby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dolby Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top