Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a community member
My two grandchildren are in this school, one in first grade and one in pre-K. The teachers and administration are outstanding. They are always finding ways to improve the children's learning experience. Very very happy Grandmother.

Dolby Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful school! My child is currently in 3rd grade and we have had many wonderful teachers. Plus the office staff and administrative team are always communicating with parents and are willing to work together for what is in your child's best interests!


Dolby Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
This school has really lifted my child's level in English.The Principal and teachers are role models.There's discipline in the school.It's highly recommended for their high performance.

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! He is in first grade this year and doing well. Last year we had Ms. Phelps, she was wonderful with him. He misses her and would love to have her again this year, but she didn't move up. I'm sure Ms. Ramsey will be just as good.

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
Dolby is excellent at incorporating technology into the curriculum to keep students engaged regardless of their preferred learning style (smart board, learning centers, etc). The teachers focus on positive reinforcement and discipline to keep students motivated and on task. I couldn't ask for a better school for my picky 4 year old. Even he loves it!


Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2006
- a parent
My daughter began pre-k at Dolby and she is now in the second grade. We absolutely love Dolby. The teachers are great, the learning environment is wonderful. The school strikes a great balance. Congratulations Dolby!

Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attended Dolby for 4 years. She ha a great experience there. Dolby had achievement awards across the board to encourage the kids. The Foreign Lanuage, Art, and Music programs she loved. They really push reading levels. And it is no wonder the school as so...good with theire President being voted top president for several years.

Dolby Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2004
- a parent
My daughter started this school in grade-K. She could not recognize any of her alphabets, numbers, vowel sounds, and her hand writing was awful. I know that this school teaches on a regular public school program but it is better then any other school she has went to. Her pre-K year, she attended John J. Johnson elementary and that school was just horrible and out of control. I requested that Nylah would beable to attend a cross country school and this was the best thing I could have ever done for her. She was beginning to become corrupt like the other students at John J. Johnson but her teacher Mrs. Houston at Dolby new exactly how to help me line up her behavior and educational wise. I was afraid to let her go to a predominantly white school but they treated her fair and equal. Dolby is awesome!


Dolby Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2004
- a parent
We love this school! We feel that Dolby gave our children the best possible start for their school years. The teachers are the best! They are very caring and concerned, knowledgeable, and energetic. They are always the first or one of the first area school to implement new statewide programs and goals. Parents are very involved with the school through their children and the individual teachers. Parent-teacher and parent-teacher-student conferences are available and encouraged. All teachers, office staff, cafeteria staff, and other support workers are always up-beat, energetic, and there for the children at all times. The atmosphere upon entering the school is warm, caring, and inviting. The school receives a wonderful school report card every year! The achievements of the students make this possible. The teachers encourage class participation, completion of all homework, 'Accellerated Readers' program, and the ease of taking tests by making them similar to the classwork.

Nearby schools

Dolby Elementary School
817 Jefferson Drive, Lake Charles, LA  70605
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (337) 217-4730
Last modified Dolby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top