Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sam Houston High School 2

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated from SHHS recently. I graduated with a 3.8 not because I worked hard, but because the coursework was so easy. My older brother graduated with a 3.5 and did none of his homework. He aced every test to make up his grade. They WILL NOT prepare students for college. They are too busy babying them so that they can all graduate with honors. Here's some stats: Summa Cum Laude = 3.9 and above = 44 SHHS grads of 2013 Magna Cum Laude = 3.75 - 3.89 = 21 SHHS 2013 grads of 2013 Cum Laude = 3.5 - 3.74 = around 30 SHHS grads of 2013 Graduating class of about 275 If this is how many people can graduate with honors (especially with a 4.0), then what does that say about the grading expectations. If for some odd reason you decide to send your child to this glorified institute, DO NOT trust their report card to tell you if they are college ready.

Sam Houston High School 1

Posted April 25, 2012
- a community member
Went to school here in the early 80's as a junior. I was given work that I had studied in 6th grade! Hope this school has improved since then.


Sam Houston High School 1

Posted December 10, 2011
- a teacher
The students are extremely ill-behaved and instead of dealing with the students for fighting or being offensive, the teachers instead write them up because they aren't wearing purple lanyards or they're jackets are zipped in the middle instead of all the way up or down. In one class, the teacher let her students grade their own paper then tell her what they made, most of the students lying because they had no idea what they were doing and the teacher refused to explain the problems when asked. "Teaching" means, in some classes, simply reading out of the text books to the students, not really knowing what to do. There are plenty of kids who will proudly tell you about how high they are, how many months till their baby is due, or how they made the French teacher cry. If this is your cup of tea, then by all means, send you kid here to learn how to be a drag on society! In short, no discipline, misplaced rules, and minimal teaching standards. This place is terrible

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
What more can you get out of a public school? They have lots of options for all kids. As for drugs, they are everywhere. Teach your kids right and hope they make the right decision. No complaints at SHHS so far!

Sam Houston High School 1

Posted July 04, 2009
- a student
This school is thoroughly unacceptable. Although I only attended for a few months, as an outsider I had a clear view of the terrible aspects. An excessive amount of classtime is used just with teachers punishing dress code infractions, a system I find ridiclous for this reason: I assume the school has their resons for being uniform. What these reasons are is unimportant, because it is permitted to wear jeans on Fridays. If these rules do not hold true on Fridays, then they cannot be considered valid for the rest of the week. Next issue: ridiclous classes. In the majority of my classes, we either were given very little work, busy work, or the teacher intended to give work but spent the classtime bickering instead. Hint to adminastrators; If you treat students as young adults vs. as inmates, they will behave in a mix of respect and maturity/ independance.


Sam Houston High School 4

Posted June 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sam Houston High School 3

Posted April 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a student
I think this school is in the top3 in the parish; I am a college student now and wish my whole school career could have been as good as my high school years at Sam Houston.


Sam Houston High School 4

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sam Houston High School 4

Posted April 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sam Houston High School
880 Sam Houston Jones Parkway, Lake Charles, LA  70611
(337) 217-4480
Last modified Sam Houston High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sam Houston High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top