Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sam Houston High School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
My children attend school in this district because they are the best schools Lake Charles has to offer. The Middle school and Elementary do a great job preparing the students for high school so the downgraded rating for SHHS is a bit surprising. SHHS is not the feeder school for multiple schools most of the students attend Moss Bluff Elem or Gillis Elem. and Moss Bluff Middle. The teachers are quick to respond to parent concerns and will gladly meet with parents. No school is perfect but SHHS has a lot to offer students, extra curricular activities, Band, Sports including Soccer, and Tennis as well as clubs. Visit the CPSB.org website for all of the schools offerings. My son is in AP (honor) classes and he has to work diligently for B grades. Yes, they enforce the district policies for dress code but, if the community decides on a policy the school is responsible to enforce it. If you are considering Moss Bluff visit the schools and you will be pleasantly surprised at how well they are run. Look at district test data as a comparison, as well as drop out and completion rates. SHHS is doing well in all aspects. The schools in our district enjoy a lot of parent support.

Sam Houston High School 2

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated from SHHS recently. I graduated with a 3.8 not because I worked hard, but because the coursework was so easy. My older brother graduated with a 3.5 and did none of his homework. He aced every test to make up his grade. They WILL NOT prepare students for college. They are too busy babying them so that they can all graduate with honors. Here's some stats: Summa Cum Laude = 3.9 and above = 44 SHHS grads of 2013 Magna Cum Laude = 3.75 - 3.89 = 21 SHHS 2013 grads of 2013 Cum Laude = 3.5 - 3.74 = around 30 SHHS grads of 2013 Graduating class of about 275 If this is how many people can graduate with honors (especially with a 4.0), then what does that say about the grading expectations. If for some odd reason you decide to send your child to this glorified institute, DO NOT trust their report card to tell you if they are college ready.


Sam Houston High School 1

Posted April 25, 2012
- a community member
Went to school here in the early 80's as a junior. I was given work that I had studied in 6th grade! Hope this school has improved since then.

Sam Houston High School 1

Posted December 10, 2011
- a teacher
The students are extremely ill-behaved and instead of dealing with the students for fighting or being offensive, the teachers instead write them up because they aren't wearing purple lanyards or they're jackets are zipped in the middle instead of all the way up or down. In one class, the teacher let her students grade their own paper then tell her what they made, most of the students lying because they had no idea what they were doing and the teacher refused to explain the problems when asked. "Teaching" means, in some classes, simply reading out of the text books to the students, not really knowing what to do. There are plenty of kids who will proudly tell you about how high they are, how many months till their baby is due, or how they made the French teacher cry. If this is your cup of tea, then by all means, send you kid here to learn how to be a drag on society! In short, no discipline, misplaced rules, and minimal teaching standards. This place is terrible

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
What more can you get out of a public school? They have lots of options for all kids. As for drugs, they are everywhere. Teach your kids right and hope they make the right decision. No complaints at SHHS so far!


Sam Houston High School 1

Posted July 04, 2009
- a student
This school is thoroughly unacceptable. Although I only attended for a few months, as an outsider I had a clear view of the terrible aspects. An excessive amount of classtime is used just with teachers punishing dress code infractions, a system I find ridiclous for this reason: I assume the school has their resons for being uniform. What these reasons are is unimportant, because it is permitted to wear jeans on Fridays. If these rules do not hold true on Fridays, then they cannot be considered valid for the rest of the week. Next issue: ridiclous classes. In the majority of my classes, we either were given very little work, busy work, or the teacher intended to give work but spent the classtime bickering instead. Hint to adminastrators; If you treat students as young adults vs. as inmates, they will behave in a mix of respect and maturity/ independance.

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a student
I think this school is in the top3 in the parish; I am a college student now and wish my whole school career could have been as good as my high school years at Sam Houston.

Sam Houston High School 4

Posted August 16, 2007
- a community member
I am a college student who graduated from this high school. I must say that I was well prepared for college thanks to the teachers at Sam Houston.


Sam Houston High School 4

Posted May 29, 2007
- a student
I currently attend sam houston (class of 2009), and I personally think that it is a great school with good teachers and a good environment....Not to mention great sports. Go broncos!

Sam Houston High School 4

Posted February 19, 2007
- a teacher
This school is not perfect, but no school is. The teachers care a lot about the students, but they do not get much parental support. I did my student teaching semester at SHHS, and I thought there were some pretty amazing students and teachers at this school. There are much worse out there. I know b/c I am teaching at one that is much worse. Go Broncos!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sam Houston High School
880 Sam Houston Jones Parkway, Lake Charles, LA  70611
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (337) 217-4480
Last modified Sam Houston High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top