Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 406 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2010

The principal makes this school great..she is wonderful and works well with parents and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Both of my children attend Oak Park Elementary and I would not change it for the world. I have two children that are both extremely gifted. They have both been tested for other schools but I refuse to take them out of this school. No school is going to be perfect but how do you expect them to do better when some parents do not give them this opportunity. You want to talk about their test scores but how are they suppose to improve them when we are taking all of the extremely smart children out of the school? I have had my differences with the teachers and even with the principal, but Ms. Hardy is a principal that you can also go to and talk with. I have always been able to express myself to her and she has always listened. I recommend this school to everyone. I love OPE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My child has been going to this school since Pre-k. It was the best decision I made. I love the principal and the teachers she has had. I am very involved in the school and they are like family to me. The majority is African American, but all students are treated equally. This year my daughter is taking the leap for 4th grade and the teachers make sure they are very prepared for testing as well as keeping the parents informed on what is going on. My daughter's teacher was chosen for teacher of the year. His name is Mr. Bundy and he has the children's best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

My son attended this school and I can honestly say our experience was terrible. Most of the staff is not very supportive or enthusiatistic about educating children. I attempted to get my son evaluated for an IEP, but the paperwork was never started. The principal is not compassionate, nor understanding of the needs of students and families. The only wonderful teacher at Oak Park is 'Ms Mary Parker'. She was my son's second grade teacher and was very supportive. I pulled my son out of this school and placed him in College Oaks Elementary. In 2005 we relocated to a suburb in Illinois and I am so glad to have left Calcasieu school district. My son is now able to learn and get the services he needs in order to become a successful citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Majority to Minority. This school is not recomened to familes that are not african americans. That is the majority at this school. The minority is Asian, white, and latino. There is over 300 aferican americans, there is only 7 or 8 white, 2 asians and 1 latino. Please got all info about this school before you enroll your child. Also, the school its self is very old, and look like it is in terrible condition. Not recomended!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Please reconsider before sending your children to this school. I agree with the 1st comment as well. i would definetly home school before I would send my children here. There is a majority to minorioty problem at this school. The majority is blacks, and the minority is white, and asian. The school is run downed. The teachers do not dress very well, nothing at this school seems planed. There seems to be a lack of disapline at this school as well. If you are in the zone for this school, I recomened getting an out of zone permit for another school. Make sure to call the school you are interested in before filling out the form, if there is no room, you will be denied and your child will have to go to Oak Park. My children now go to St.John.It is pubic and brand new. http://www.cpsb.org/ This Is the website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

Teachers come and go way too much. The Principal is way over bearing. I would not send my child to this school, I would homeschool first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

'Teachers are empathetic and really want students to learn. '
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

This is a great school, I went here as a child now my kids go here. The teachers are concerned and attentive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
28%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 45%
White 2% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melinda Hardy
Fax number
  • (337) 217-4851

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 18th Street
Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone: (337) 217-4850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Margaret School
Lake Charles, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT