Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Lake Charles, LA
Students enrolled: 896
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John Elementary School 3

Posted July 15, 2013
- a community member
This school is very overcrowded. It went from 700+ to 900+ within 2 years. And that 16 kids per teacher thing is not true. Now, its more like 24 students per class from grades Kindergarten to 4th grade. Each of those grades have 6 teachers in them now. Once they get to 5th grade, the number of teachers drop to 5 and the classes are crowded with 29-32 students per class. That's too many for an elementary school. I don't understand why they don't hire a sixth teacher like the rest of the grades. Its been that way for 2-3 years now and it angers me. I hope they get another teacher so those students don't have to be cramped into those small classrooms like that. I've had family members who have attended the school and complained about the overcrowded situation. I attended Nelson Elementary which has about 680-720 students, but the classes were always 18-25 students. And if it exceeded that, they applied for a Federal Position teacher to come in so the classes weren't as full. That would bring the classes from 27-29 to 23-24 and in some cases lower. The education is okay though..

St. John Elementary School 3

Posted May 02, 2013
- a community member
My children attended St. John, and had great success. I think on the other hand that if you have any professional duties at this school as a adult, it depends on who you are and what you can get done. The door is not always open for everyone. I hope in the future it gets better.


St. John Elementary School 3

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
St. John is a great school with the exception of some teacher who does not want "bussed" students at the school. A child will be easily targeted by the staff with the support of the administrative staff. If you want your child to get a good education please stay on top of everything. Do not believe want is being fed, conduct your own investigation and if need be contact an attorney.

St. John Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. John Elementary School 3

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. John Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. John Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 30, 2007
- a parent
Best of luck if you decide to send your child to this school. They will not get a great education. You will be kept n the dark about alot of things that will go on.

St. John Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2007
- a parent
So far everthing with this school has gone wonderfuly. St.John is great!


St. John Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

St. John Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2006
- a parent
St.John is a wonderful school for our children to learn and grow both in academic and in personal growth. The teachers are very helpful and willing to work with your child. We are blessed to have such an outstanding school in Calcasieu Parish. Kendrea Terrell

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Elementary School
5566 Elliott Road, Lake Charles, LA  70605
(337) 217-4870
Last modified St. John Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St. John Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top