Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


S. J. Welsh Middle School 3

Posted August 02, 2015
- a community member
Donovan, You can't even spell correctly. You obviously have not learned very much. I do not like the fact that the Gym is not Air Conditioned. Also the Car Rider situation is crazy. Either pave the road or start handing out Don's Car Wash vouchers. SJ is not really all that.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 1

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
I hear about a LOT of bullying that goes on at this school. They have way to many kids and not enough faculty to properly watch over all of them - not saying they don't try. If would help if they would stop bussing in so many kids. Most of the teachers are great. The boys gym also doesn't have air conditioning although the girls gym does. Bottom Line - This school is way overcrowded.


S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2011
- a community member
I absolutely LOVE this school! The teachers make sure each of their classes meet the GLE's. They also make learning the subject easier and sometimes even fun. The faculty and staff are friendly, helpful, and very hardworking. And by the way, having to eat outside is NOT a problem! Many students actually enjoy it! S.J. Welsh is awesome, and I recommend it to any student who wants to move here. Go Colts!!

S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
This school is not over crowed. They just built a 6th grade building for the 6th grade so the only people in the main buildings are 7th and 8th. Theres also a second story for some of the eight graders. Its really a good school. I go there everyday I know. Why would there be a courtyard with tables if the outside wasnt meant to house people? The people who bring there lunch sit outside. There is no reason for them to be in the cafeteria. They dont have to buy food. The people who buy food go to the cafeteria eat then go out side and sit down. We all eventually end up outside. I think the school having lots of kids is a good thing because you have lots to choose from.In my opinion if you go here and dont make friends somethings wrong with you.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 1

Posted June 20, 2009
- a parent
yeah this school is way too overcrowded!! i would rather send my child to fk white middle. this school has so many kids, and no where to put them!! it's just terrible! and i did send my child to f.k afterwards.


S. J. Welsh Middle School
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
Academic standards are high but the school is too small for the number of students it has. Some students must eat lunch outdoors because there isn't an adaquate size lunch room.

S. J. Welsh Middle School
no rating

Posted December 12, 2008
- a student
U think its overcrowded I thimk it`s just fine for me! Sj gives me the power,the knolwge to scessed Donovan Comeaux

S. J. Welsh Middle School
no rating

Posted August 22, 2007
- a community member


S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted November 29, 2006
- a student
I love it we get a great education we have fun and the teachers are great

S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a student
It's actually the top ranked middle school in Louisiana .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

S. J. Welsh Middle School
1500 West McNeese Street, Lake Charles, LA  70605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (337) 217-4410
Last modified S. J. Welsh Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top