Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Lake Charles, LA
Students enrolled: 1,298

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


S. J. Welsh Middle School 1

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
I hear about a LOT of bullying that goes on at this school. They have way to many kids and not enough faculty to properly watch over all of them - not saying they don't try. If would help if they would stop bussing in so many kids. Most of the teachers are great. The boys gym also doesn't have air conditioning although the girls gym does. Bottom Line - This school is way overcrowded.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2011
- a community member
I absolutely LOVE this school! The teachers make sure each of their classes meet the GLE's. They also make learning the subject easier and sometimes even fun. The faculty and staff are friendly, helpful, and very hardworking. And by the way, having to eat outside is NOT a problem! Many students actually enjoy it! S.J. Welsh is awesome, and I recommend it to any student who wants to move here. Go Colts!!


S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
This school is not over crowed. They just built a 6th grade building for the 6th grade so the only people in the main buildings are 7th and 8th. Theres also a second story for some of the eight graders. Its really a good school. I go there everyday I know. Why would there be a courtyard with tables if the outside wasnt meant to house people? The people who bring there lunch sit outside. There is no reason for them to be in the cafeteria. They dont have to buy food. The people who buy food go to the cafeteria eat then go out side and sit down. We all eventually end up outside. I think the school having lots of kids is a good thing because you have lots to choose from.In my opinion if you go here and dont make friends somethings wrong with you.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 1

Posted June 20, 2009
- a parent
yeah this school is way too overcrowded!! i would rather send my child to fk white middle. this school has so many kids, and no where to put them!! it's just terrible! and i did send my child to f.k afterwards.


S. J. Welsh Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
Academic standards are high but the school is too small for the number of students it has. Some students must eat lunch outdoors because there isn't an adaquate size lunch room.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 12, 2008
- a student
U think its overcrowded I thimk it`s just fine for me! Sj gives me the power,the knolwge to scessed Donovan Comeaux

S. J. Welsh Middle School 1

Posted March 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


S. J. Welsh Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 22, 2007
- a community member
This school is overcrowded.

S. J. Welsh Middle School 5

Posted November 29, 2006
- a student
I love it we get a great education we have fun and the teachers are great

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

S. J. Welsh Middle School
1500 West McNeese Street, Lake Charles, LA  70605
(337) 217-4410
Last modified S. J. Welsh Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
S. J. Welsh Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top