Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laplace Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

LES is really a great place to learn! I am excited it is a "B" school now! Faculty and staff are great too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

LaPlace Elementary is really a GREAT PLACE to LEARN. Faculty and staff are WONDERFUL! My child left private school to attend LES and we have had nothing but success. Principal Mrs. Cupit is also wonderful and works real hard to make LES successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

The principal seems very unconcerned about the students at the school and she is very unpofessional and lacks common courteousy with outside staff that visits. I was very shocked to learn that she was named " Principal of the year" last school term. I do not have children at the school but I am there often. I have had many students report to me about the bullying that takes place there and the lack of discipline and/or action that is taken as a result of the incidence. I dread going to the school each week and I hope that a new principal is provided to the school that actually cares about the students there!


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers that my children have are wonderful. If there is ever a problem they are there. And i like the fact that Mrs. Davis has the respect from all her 7th and 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Its an ok school honestly. The grade curve isn't very high so my three kids are straight-A students. However the teachers seem to have a saying 'What goes on in the halls does not matter' because they will not deal or do anything about bullying in the halls of the school. You can take it to the principal and they tell you to contact the teacher about it which is pointless if it happens in the hall. Other than that, its a great school, and I am very pleased with the activities and grades my children get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Coming from New Orleans I can appreciate the good things this school has to offer but it is also lacking proper supervision of it students. If a teacher does not see an incident take place there are no measures taken to correct it. This is not how something should be handled to correct things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

This is my sons first year in this school, and I am very pleased with the school, teachers, and curriculum so far. 2 thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I luv this school to death. I've attented LaPlace Elementary School since I was in Kindergarten, and now I'm in 8th grade going to high-school. I appreciate my wonderful and brilliant teachers as if they were my blood. 'LaPlace Elementary School, A Great Place To Learn!'
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

Glad my daughter is now out of LaPlace Middle, never looking back. She continually complained that the school was too easy and not challenging enough. Because there are no classes for honors (only midstream and Gifted/Talented), the children who excel more than midstream get bored. She's on to bigger and better things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

This school is one of the best schools in the district. We have been overjoyed by Laplace Elem. Although the classrooms are packed, the teachers and principal go out of their way to make learning successful for all the children. They encourage parent involvement although most parents do not attend the wonderful programs offered by this school. I am glad that LaPlace Elementary has such a wonderful set of caring educators to teach our young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

The Gifted And Talented Classes are DEFINITELY not for drawing. That's Gifted and Talented ART. LaPlace Elementary/Middle is a wonderful school. I would never think anything less of it. So, if you want to to send your child to a very wonderful school, make LaPlace Elementary your first choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

My daughter went to Laplace Elem. for 1 year and we have been disappointed in the education they provide. My daughter is a A+ student I have grades to prove that. This school has offered her nothing in any type of advance classes or what so ever. The gifted and talented is not for advanced students. I was told they just draw in that class.In other states the gifted and talented classes are for advanced students. I expected quaility I was told they were the best in LaPlace but got nothing but disappointment. When I questioned the school about my daughters education they advised me that since she is advanced she can help other students get on level with reading and math. I feel that students that are advance shouldn't be told to pick up a book and read it while the teacher teaches. This worries me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

i'm a 7th grade student at laplace elem. i love this school. i cant imagine how much i will miss it when i leave. everyone at laplace elem. treats you equal and ive learned so many new things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2005

My daughter went to school their for one semester in kindergarden. We went to check her out of school for a doctors appointment and knew absoulutly no one in the office and they asked for no identification. Then I went to drop her out of school and pick her up and once again asked for no identification. To me that seems very unsafe and uncaring because they had no clue who I was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

My family moved to LaPlace four years ago. My kids enrolled in LaPlace Elem. a they enjoyed the teachers they had in the four years. Their first year there was after the first nine weeks.The staff at Laplace Elem.made them welcome aboard the school. The teachers are wonderful and are really caring. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

We moved from Mandeville, La. to LaPlace. I did not find the Mandeville schools impressive what so ever. My daughter and I love LaPlace Elementary. She has had nothing, but wonderful teachers and the rest of the staff is very nice. I wouldn't even dare think about putting my child in another school. Everyone at the school is doing an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

LaPlace Elementary is a wonderful school. The principal, teachers, and staff are all terrific. Scores are also great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 45%
White 25% 47%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Allison Cupit
Fax number
  • (985) 652-3979

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

393 Greenwood Drive
Laplace, LA 70068
Phone: (985) 652-5552

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT