Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-6
Public district
Leesville, LA
Students enrolled: 514
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vernon Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
My child comes home depressed and cries everyday and every morning she is in 9th grade and hates her school and the kids there. They do not help the children, she struggles everyday with her grades and her test and all the teenage drama has gotten to her she literally hates it there. The kids bring ciggeretts to school lighters knives it's crazy. To many kids cutting themselves at school fighting and bullying going to deal with that school is not going to change anything.

Vernon Middle School 1

Posted April 22, 2013
- a community member
Vernon Middle School should not be a school of choice. It will take years to change all the ongoing problems. The School Board needs to make changes! Children matter!


Vernon Middle School 1

Posted July 12, 2012
- a parent
This is the worst school either of our children have attended. The assistant principal covers up bullying, and is a former bus driver who allows the bus drivers to do whatever they want. The staff makes the kids walk around the halls with their arms crossed, terrible body language that ends up reflecting the student's attitudes. We were quite adamant that we were available to help in any way, and provided the teachers with several contact numbers and email options. Yet we rarely, if ever, heard from them even when there were academic issues we should have addressed long before report cards were issued. All in all, I would not recommend this school to anyone...especially in an open enrollment parish in which you can easily enroll your student in another school. Our student will not be attending this school next year.

Vernon Middle School 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
This is a Excellent school, This school doesn't hesitate testing and helping students that have learning disabilities, I would recommend this school to anyone..

Vernon Middle School 5

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
I am very proud of this school.It makes sure students can pass the iLEAP test or try at least


Vernon Middle School 4

Posted July 14, 2009
- a student
i'am a former student of vms, i was on the first danceline and i'm proud of that, but the school was okay, my teachers were always there to assist me when i needed to. they do not call if you are failing your classes, however they do send out a sheet of your grades, so you can't complain, it just depends if your child shows you or not. its not there fault they don't call, its yours for not checking your childs grades. you can check your childs grades on the school website. i loved this school with all my heart, and i will definantly miss it <3

Vernon Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Vernon Middle School 3

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
two of my 3 kids attended this school and I don't have much to complain about other than when grades are slipping sometimes you aren't notified in time..but the new system (parent center) helps ALOT. I can keep up with the grades. Mr. Wesley is the best asset to the school..He really cares about the students, and parent involvement. every school should have a principal like him.


Vernon Middle School 5

Posted June 21, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Vernon Middle School 3

Posted January 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vernon Middle School
1410 Nona Street, Leesville, LA  71446
(337) 238-1505
Last modified Vernon Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vernon Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top