Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fontainebleau Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 936 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Fontainebleau Junior High School is a great school! With my youngest child moving on to the high school next year it will be difficult to say good-bye to so many great people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

FJH is an awesome school with an awesome faculty and staff. Both my boys are in high school now but I enjoyed my years at FJH. I will have some grand children and friends children coming to FJH with in the next 2 years. FJH is a very well run school and that is because of the wonderful staff. I volunteered there when my boys attended and even was the PTA Co-President. I highly recommend this school for this grant. They are in the process of building some new wings so this money would be greatly appreciated and used in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Very strong administrative team and great group of teachers. This school holds kids to a high academic standard and offers many extracurricular programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

They hold the students to a high standard of learning and offer a variety of additional activities for students.


Posted November 6, 2009

Its amazing, I have learned so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

This is my daughter's first year at FJH and I am tremendously pleased with the education she is receiving. FJH challenges her to use critical thinking skills and advanced cognitive skills. It's a tough school, but it prepares your children for the next level of education and any great school should do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

Fontainebleau Junior High is an excellent public junior high school whose curriculum greatly encourages critical thinking skills besides just teaching the basics, as any good school would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Although the test scores at this school are high, I find the general usable education to be lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

This is my son's first year at Pitcher Jr. High. He came from a private school, so public school is a new experience for him. He couldn't love it more! He likes his teachers and we, as parents, are extremely pleased with everything about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I've have been pleased with Fontainebleau Junior High they have wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

I've been very pleased with this school...the teachers are great and have high standards for the students and are always there to help every student reach those standards. A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

I feel this school needs alot of improvement. If your child is an average student then you have it made. My child has been set aside to many times. Hopefully your child will not need to be tutored or have a special need. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

Great school in a national prominent school district. There is no need to send your child anywhere else, because they will receive a top-notch education at FJH.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2005

This is basically a great school, but when it comes to disciplining the special education students, they do a disservice to the students. What is good enough for the regular ed. students should be good enough for them. The parents of these students should also be more supportative of the teachers. Teachers are not here to raise your child, nor to teach them manners, that's your job. Parents should also double check to SEE if their student has done his/her homework. Homework in the reinforcement of what was learned in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

You could not pay for a better education. This school offers what you would expect to pay for in a private school. The class size however is a little large. Overall, I have one leaving and one entering and I have been very satisfied with the results.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 47%
Black 10% 45%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Timothy Schneider PhD
Fax number
  • (985) 875-7650

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Hurricane Alley
Mandeville, LA 70471
Phone: (985) 875-7501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northshore Options
Mandeville, LA






Mandeville High School
Mandeville, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT