Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mandeville High School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
The top rated public high school in Louisiana. My child received an excellent education here and because of MHS high rating could go anywhere he wanted to go. Obviously lots of people here don't like the Principal Bruce Bundy who has been there forever and will probably retire soon. True he is more interested in the football team than anything else, [for some reason school boards seem to think that ex-jocks make good principals - what a fallacy!] but actually the place is really run by Vice Principal Kellie who is a fabulous administrator. The other big complaint that people seem to have on this board is that Bundy et al enforce the dress code too strictly! Personally, I appreciated that. The kids don't look like a bunch of heathens. The academics are first rate and there are so many extra-curricular organization that no matter what your child's interests, there is a place where they will "fit in". I found the teachers were commendable in their knowledge of each student. My son was in band and the emphasis on training, teamwork and leadership was outstanding and continued through several different band leaders. A great experience.
1 person found this helpful

Mandeville High School 3

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
Weak leadership from Bruce Bundy, office staff is there just for the paycheck - rude on the phone, ignore parents and students when in the Student Services office. Teachers are good and know the material, however, they should focus on teaching instead of pointing out petty, teenage behavior like MINOR dress code infractions and silly/harmless behavior. The students find this teacher behavior to be distracting and lose respect for the teacher. Teachers and leadership need to remember that are in the business of children and rise above their egos. This would set a much better example for the kids.
1 person found this helpful


Mandeville High School 4

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
As a former student of Mandeville high, I will say the Mandeville's academics are strong and you can learn easily here. However there is one problem I must point out. The administration is too heavily focused on dress code than anything else. I encountered several students with an attitude that could only be described as "snobby". The principals are so focused on whether or not you are wearing your ID card that they often miss several other offenses going on at school. But the number of good students outnumbers the bad. Overall, Mandeville is a good school and is certainly to be considered if you are going to live in this area.

Mandeville High School 1

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
I love how Bruce Bundy clearly tried to redeem himself by making a post by a "parent". I did not post those other posts, but did come across them when searching for an alumni association, and I couldn't help but agree with that person's post. Not only that, I was appalled by the clear attempt for Bruce to act like a parent on this website. It's quite obvious that's what happened. I graduated from MHS a few years ago, was EXTREMELY involved, on the nationally ranked Spinnakers dance team, a class officer, made a 34 on the ACT, went to a top rated college, already have a master's degree, and was just accepted to a top law school, and I can say that none of my success can be attributed to Mandeville High. Bruce Bundy is a TERRIBLE principal, and I can totally agree with the former posts. I have heard of some horrible things that have happened at that school lately, and they all point back to Bruce Bundy. Kelley Brondum is the best adminstrator there, someone should make her principal, and I think the school would improve vastly. Until then though, DO NOT send your children here. --an extremely successful, very involved, accomplished, yet extremely disappointed, former Skipper
1 person found this helpful

Mandeville High School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. The faculty is supportive and motivates the student body to succeed. My son scored a 27 on the ACT as a sophomore - enough said. There are so many diversified activities to engage any student in becoming involved with their own education and growth. If your child cannot do well here - you cannot blame this school. It just might not be a good fit and your child may need more structure and more parental involvement.


Mandeville High School 4

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
The three posts made in quick succession in May of 2013 all rating MHS as a 1-star school probably have a common author who seems motivated by a vendetta against Mandeville High school principal Bruce Bundy. In fact, MHS is an academically superior school rated by the state of Louisiana as the #25 school out of more than 1300 in the state. Sure, some teachers are better than others, as in any school, but for the most part teachers and administrators alike are doing a good job. My daughter will graduate next year, and most of her friends in the class of 2013 were accepted into their first choice colleges. There are a wide range of extracurricular activities, the schools athletic teams are generally successful, and there is an overall friendly and caring atmosphere at the school.

Mandeville High School 1

Posted May 08, 2013
- a community member
Horrible, horrible principal. Bruce Bundy's only goal seems to be to ruin successful students. He only cares about himself and his reputation, and he is willing to throw any student under the bus in order to do so. I recommend that no one else send their children here, not with the plenty of other affordable private schools opening in the area. Do yourself a favor and seek out other schooling options if you live in the Mandeville High district.

Mandeville High School 2

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Mandeville High School There aren't enough textbooks for the students. Some students were told they could buy their textbook online because they couldn't take it home. Generally speaking, the students aren't prepared for the ACT exam or for college. They do offer AP classes, at the students/parents expense; which is confusing since they get money and points for offering these classes and having the students do well. They only offer 1 ACT prep class a year. My daughter has been on the honor since 9th grade, taking Honors and AP classes, but was not able to make over a 20 on the ACT. I was told private tutoring was available and well as classes for $1000. Yet, the school was able to build a soccer field this year. Academics are obviously not a priority at this school anymore. Graduation is so unorganized. There are over 400 students graduating and they were told there was only a time frame of 1.5 hours to pick up all their graduation supplies. The lack of organisation and poor management are evident. If I had another child, they would not be going to Mandeville High School. It has taken a definitive nose dive since Katrina.


Mandeville High School 1

Posted September 24, 2012
- a community member
As of this year 2012-2013, this school has gone downhill. One of the main problems with this school is how overcrowded it is. No longer can Mandeville High brag about its small student body in comparison to its counter Fontainbleu High. The population get larger and larger every year as freshmen pour in and kids are forced to push through the main hallway like cattle. As a student here, I cannot express enough how crowded it is in the halls and how ridiculous it is that nobody do any action! Instead of focusing on either expanding the school or building a Madisonville High for a great number of students who live there, Mandeville High puts more money and focus into their sports and reputation. All the encouragement I ever got out of this school was to donate $$$. This year they are particularly bad about class fees and such but the fact that they're now allowing current Juniors to take a free ACT just tops it all off. Take my advice: send your kid to Lakeshore High. This institution is much bigger, has a smaller student body, and is more focused on the quality of your student's education. Class of 2013 student.

Mandeville High School 5

Posted May 30, 2010
- a parent
We gave 3 daughters at MHS. We moved to this area from New Orleans for the public school system. We have not been disappointed. MHS is definitely for those who are academically minded. It offers good classes for all levels, and a student body of middle to upper-middle class families, with college an expected "next step" for students. Vast number of clubs, activities, and sports. For those that feel there are "snobby" students: I don't see it. We are middle-income, and a large family, and we find our kids making friends at all social-economic levels. Kids do look down on the "druggies" and let's face it: It's high school. We love the area, the school system, and the future prospects for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mandeville High School
1 Skipper Drive, Mandeville, LA  70471
(985) 626-5225
Last modified Mandeville High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mandeville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top