Advertisement
Advertisement

Archbishop Shaw High School

Private | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Marrero

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2013

Attending Shaw was an awesome experience for me. I graduated over 6 years ago but I find that I think about it almost every day and how much of a great place it was/is. Contrary to what some believe, it is not a jock school. I wasn't involved in athletics, but I was respected as much as any other student. I have friendships to this day which began at Archbishop Shaw. I am in law school now and proudly wear my Shaw necktie on a regular basis. I have a daughter, but if I ever have sons, I'm going to highly encourage them to consider Shaw.


Posted March 25, 2013

I am going here on sports scholarships, how is the school, and i want to hear from students. I see many mixed feelings here. Gotta be better than Jeff or Cox..............


Posted June 19, 2011

As a student at shaw for the 2010-2011 school year it was the worst school that I had ever been to most teachers have favorites and the students are ignorant and disrespectful towards each other. This school needs more rules and more respect for their fellow class mates and teachers.


Posted May 22, 2011

Are you still teaching at Archbishop Shaw??? I'm appalled at this type of remark. What are you doing about it, if you are a teacher?


Posted November 15, 2010

The students and faculty take pride in everything that they do. Students are encouraged to do their best! A valuable lesson that is taught at the school is respect for all. I encourage you to look into the educational benefits of this school for your son.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2010

As an alumni and teacher, I am appalled at what this school has become. Teachers are forced to change grades to pass students, and student drug abuse gets ignored on a daily basis. In addition, the disciplinary attitudes of the administration are outrageous. Please save your son, and keep him far away.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

This school is amazing. I want everyone to send their child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

I am somewhat disappointed in Shaw because it is geared towards sports and alumni only. The teachers are inconsistent and never on thesame page. The school does have drugs, because there was just an incident that the parents were not informed of. My son is asking to be transfered and I think I am going to do just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I am a parent of a student at Shaw. We are very pleased with the school. This is my son second year there and he loves it. I can not agree with the reviews that were previously written because I have never had a problem here.The teachers are great . If you email them with any problen they quickly respond and handle the problem. The comments about hte school being full of drugs and tash, that is defintinly NOT true. The principal at Shaw does not tolerate anything like that at the school. Shaw Is a very competivie school when it comes to sports, but what school isn't, they're no different from any other high school. My son and I love the school and it's wonderful with the academic componet. If you want a nice, respectful son, Archbishiop Shaw is the place to send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Archbishop is one of the top all male catholic high schools in the New Orleans metro area. Many local and state leaders have graduated from Shaw. It has a caring staff and dedicated educators.


Posted October 31, 2008

This is my son's second year. He is doing well and the faculty is caring towards the students. The class size is ideal. Shaw used to be a sports focused school. While they still have an excellenct sports program, the academics is wonderful. Their average ACT score is the second highest in the city. The administration wants students to succeed. They also students accountable for their actions. I am so happy my son decided to fly with the eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I am a student at Shaw. Shaw has always had a bad rap everywhere besides the westbank. The only thing Shaw is good for is sports and when they are not winning the whole school is not winning. The English and Math departments are terrible, I find that I teach myself the things that I feel are important. The laptops we received were a terrible idea, teachers never used them, they do not work, and the internet is inconsistent. Also, I feel that the administration and teachers are on a different page. This school is full of drugs and trash, please do not send your kids to Shaw and do them a favor in sending them across the river.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2007

January 2007 Shaw is an excellent school with a caring administration. The use of edline keeps parents posted weekly on their sons progress and contains e-mail addresses for all teachers. Shaw is a family environment that wants all students to succeed. The religious presence keeps a true catholic presence in the school. Teachers care about your son and offer tutoring before and after school and during lunch. They rank second in the city with ACT scores. Class sizes are smaller than most schools. Sports do not run this school as some think. Coaches will bench students if they are not cutting the grades. I cannot imagine my son at any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

Shaw is an excellent school. It is a great Catholic institution run by the Salesians of Don Bosco. It is the only Catholic high school in the area, with the exception of Jesuit, that is still run by a religious order and I believe that it means a lot. The faculty and administration are the most caring individuals I have ever met in my entire life. Shaw ranks 2nd in ACT scores. Shaw has excellent extracurriculars with caring, competent moderators. Shaw has a very family-oriented environment and everyone knows your name. I could not imagine sending my child to any other school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2005

This school is unspeakably bad. The academics are poor and clique-driven. Sports are the single important entity at the school, but the coaches will not support the academics. The administration is boorish and inefficient. The school is a nightmare. We are going to pull our boy out of the school and send him to a public institution. Give up on getting solid help from the support staff and plan on your child being ignored by the counseling staff unless you are somehow connected to the school on a social or professional basis. Parents are not encouraged to participate or are shut out altogether. Shaw is possibly the worst school with any real reputation in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 44%
Black 19% 51%
Asian 9% N/A
Hispanic 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Barataria Blvd
Marrero, LA 70072
Phone: (504) 340-6727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT