Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

L.W. Higgins High School

Public | 9-12 | 1453 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

My school is a very safe school. The teachers are ready to teach, They are always looking out for the students. when I go to school i am ready to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2011

I recently relocated to the state and Higgins is my resident home school. So far I am not impressed with much there. I did met the pricipal and he seems to care about the school and the students but that's it. The office staff are not very friendly or too helpful for that matter. I have offered to become a volunteer and no one has contacted me yet. I went on the campus today and walked around uninterepted. No one on the campus stopped me to ask me what I was doing there. Thank God I wasn't there to hurt anyone. My daughter had something taken from her and then someone tried to get her to pay them to get it back. What is really going on there. I am going to spend all my time and limited resources trying to find another school or do what ever possible to help improve this one. Unfortunately my daughter doesn't want to change schools but she doesn't know what's best for her, I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

LW Higgins is an excellent school and is just getting better now that we have a new principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

this school has then and now tauht my child everything


Posted February 2, 2009

This school is terrible. I have a fear evrey time i go there. Everyone is so rude and i htink ima get jumped, teachers dont say tight on there rules and idontknoww. Just please dont put your kid through something like this school.. The only reason im going here is because its free, and its right by my house. Could you believe that?
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

L.W. Higgins is an outstanding high school thats gets no support from the school board.If more parents were to get involved and confront the school board this school would be the best in the city.They do good in athletics every year but just no fan support.In my opinion Higgins should be supported more because their really a good school with great students.im happy that my child is currently attending
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This school is the worst on the westbank. I was very unhappy with my child at this school. I have never seen a school as bad as this school. I would nt recommend this school for any child either. Do yourself and your child a favor and send them somewhere else. Academics are not great as there are not even enough teachers to cover all of the classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

I would not recommend this school for any child. I know first hand and let me tell you this is one of the worse schools i have been to so far. Don't make the mistake of putting your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2007

Academics are Great! All extracurricular activities imaginable are available.Parents are constantly involved in their children's academic careers. As a matter of fact L.W. Higgins has the highest scores in Math and Reading than any other high school in Jefferson Parish! An abundance of parents come to Parent Teacher Conference all the time. I will defiantly recommend this school for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

Congratulations to the teacher who turned away students at the prom who chose to break the dress code agreement they had previously agreed to. We need more teachers and principals with this kind of courage! Bravo on maintaining standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

362 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

364 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
33%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
32%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 45%
White 23% 49%
Asian 4% 1%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David Lewis
Fax number
  • (504) 341-8110

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7201 Lapalco Boulevard
Marrero, LA 70072
Phone: (504) 341-2273

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT