Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harry S. Truman Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I been at truman middle school for 3 years and my 8th grade year has been by best year so far because of my science teacher has helped me alot . when I had a bad day he would ask me what wrong I WOULD SAY NOTHING but i told and now he is much sience i told him and friday is his so happy birthday MR.WATTS


Posted February 4, 2014

This is my Grandson's first year. Teachers are good BUT there is a lot of VIOLENCE AND BULLIES at that school; Seems that the staff is so overwhelmed they find every excuse to ignore the problem. Very concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

This is my daughter first year at the school..I have no problems with the dress code rules..My problem is that my daughter is in the 6th grade and she was turned around for breakfast cause the 6th graders are not allowed to eat breakfast..my daughter has been bully by some students and she reported it and nothing was done she was told that they will call her..I was told by the disciplinary office that when they get to it they was going to call all of them that have been involved..I made a statement what it's going to take my daughter getting hurt before anything is done..I was given a statement that she needs to get to and adult...My daughter placed reports back to back and nothing still was not done...As a result to this here matter my daughter was jumped on by one of the students and as a result to her defending herself she was suspended and once again we was told that nothing could not be done until the teacher gives his report.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

Truman middle school is horrible place to send your child this school is horrible theyre are a lot of strict rules at the school you cant wear a hooded jacket or your hood would be cut off shoes must be black or white random drug searches cell phone check theyre are gangs and a whole lot of fights burn pages where they talk about on facebook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I had a son to attended this school. It's was well rounded and also the teachers' care about the students. One teacher in particular stands out the most and her name is Mrs. Darenburgs. She gives so much of herself to the students to ensures each student get a quality education. Keep up the good work and be blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Truman is a good school for those who want to get a quality education. My daughter makes really good grades and she loves her teachers. I know as a parent that she is getting a good education at Truman Middle with a very strong support system at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

Truman is becoming a 'problem' school.. discipline is lacking, some students are abusive to others, it is becoming undesireable.


Posted September 23, 2005

Truman middle is so awesome it is the best school ever I loved Truman and I wish I could go back and stay there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 17, 2005

Truman offers a well-rounded education for our children. There are many extra-curricular activities as well as free after-school tutoring programs. The teachers and administration seem to care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

My son has Ms Pitre and I think shes a good techer. My son can spell and read good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 72% 45%
White 14% 47%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carl Nini
Fax number
  • (504) 347-4497

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5417 Ehret Road
Marrero, LA 70072
Phone: (504) 341-0961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT