Advertisement
Advertisement

Ridgewood Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 246 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Metairie

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2011

great school u wouldnt get better than this people brag about metairie academy or gretna acdemy common u cannot beat ridgewood .love it i would say best investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Academically, this school is wonderful. As a parent, I am greatly disappointed in the administration/budgeting of this school. Simple things like the gym scoreboard lights being out or replaced w/ different color lights, the gym needs repainting and needs air conditioning! How are the children supposed to play when it's 90 degrees in there? Also, there is no working school bus - so when the teams have sporting events elsewhere, it is up to the children to get there and back on their own (most kids ride with their parents or carpool, but it's irresponsible of the school to expect kids to get their own rides when they are playing in places as far away as Slidell! It's little things like this that tell me that the school is WASTING money. I have heard from other parents that parents have volunteered FREE OF CHARGE to paint the gym, even offered up a almost-new school bus for FREE to the school, but Headmaster Montgomery turned them down. Why when it's free? Would he rather the school look bad??? A lot of parents feel the same way as we do and there are grumblings that many are looking elsewhere for their child's education next year due to the administration/budgeting issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This is an amazing school where children are taught responsibility, respect, and accountability. Students enjoy a strong education plus ample opportunities for involvement in campus government, sports, music and other fine arts. There is a great emphasis on reading, math, language and science which prepares students well for college. Ridgewood features a diverse population of students from many backgrounds and inclusion is the hallmark of the student body. I speak as a graduate and parent. You simply cannot do better for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

good education....goos faculty and administration
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The classes are small and highly educated staff with many years of experience with children. The headmaster has been there over 50 years and is dedicated to bringing out the best in each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

I go to Ridgewood. This will be my second year there ,and i will be a Freshman. Ridgewood has taught me so many things. I had alot of catching up to do in 8th grade b/c i was coming from just a school that let anybody past. With the help of Mr.Montgomery and my teachers I was able to take all 9th grade classes last year. Students are very diversed. Ridgewood doesn't have the best sport teams because the motto is to always put school first. It's insanely diffucult at first. I love it there. So what if the buildings are old ; there all very clean. It doesn't matter if the place is very old because it teaches alot to all children regardless of race or age. That's why i love Ridgewood and will continue to go there until i graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2009

I attended Ridgewood for 8 years and I was always happy there. It's not a school where you can slip on by. I certainly had to work hard for my grades. The teachers were tough, but we gave them a tough time, too. The headmaster, Mr. Montgomery, has been there for a really long time. He's definitely a big part of the Golden Eagle experience. I hope he's still there when my son is old enough to attend.


Posted October 7, 2007

My child attended Ridgewood from 7th grade through her senior year and she absolutely loved it. It's a very safe school and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

I highly recommend Ridgewood. My 2 sons and niece graduated from Ridgewood over the last 5 years and had nothing but wonderful experiences with the school, teachers and the headmaster (who is truly an unsung hero). Academics are second to none - all 3 are soaring through college, especially in the first 2 years. They tell me it's like a review because they were so well prepared by Ridgewood. If you're looking for the right school, remember, colleges won't and don't just accept anyone; they're competitive. That's where school choice matters and Ridgewood's students go to the best, top colleges across the nation. Ridgewood really has the whole environment - as they always told me, their motto (so true) - students get the 'total education' at Ridgewood. I miss it but see the results in my kids every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Great school for a student who wants to be challenged. This school is not for everyone. Send your child there if you want to get a great education compared to any public school in Jefferson Parish. I don't know how it compares to Newman or Country Day but Ridgewood is not a big money Yuppy school. I am amazed when I hear a parent raving about a certain school. Usually they are only raving because they are comparing their school to schools in Louisiana. My children have attended public schools on the North Shore and Jefferson Parish. I know not everyone can afford it but look into a good private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Ridgewood is a great school with a few flaws. The main building is not sanitary. (overall uncleanliness) If this school would spend some money on upgrades, it would truly be the perfect school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

We have two children at Ridgewood. One is a senior. Both of our children have been at Ridgewood for 10 years. We have nothing but wonderful experiences with the school. The teachers are first class and are highly credentialed. The administration has always responded to any concern or request we have had -- and they have done so with great speed and concern. The academics have been second to none. Our children are known by most of the teachers because of the size of the student body. We looked at many schools before choosing Ridgewood and have no regrets. I am a professor and deal with education matters on a regular basis. Even my overly critical eye gives Ridgewood a superior rating. Also, the fact that the school is accredited by SACS is a real plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

My son had a terrible experience at Ridgewood, and I wish we had never set foot in the door. My son was harrased all year by one child and the teachers and administration did nothing to stop it, but if someone accused my son of doing something, even if he had witnesses to prove otherwise, he was automatically suspended. My son also had his wallet stolen twice in the short time he was there. The principal just said, 'too bad', and did nothing to find the thief. I would not recommend this school to anyone, even if it were the last private school on earth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

This school is great. I personnally know the pricipal. He has a great sense of humor. The teachers are very friendly. my sisters and I went to Ridgewood for four years before we moved. This is the best you can get.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2005

Both of my daughters have attended this school. One has graduated after being there for 11 years, and the other is graduating this year after attending the school for 13 years beginning in kindergarten. I have found that the school is a great place to enroll your child. The teachers are very friendly and are there to help your child everystep of their way through lower, middle, and upper school. I can not say enough good things about this school. If you are looking for an affordable private school to enroll your child in please consider Ridgewood Prep. It will be the best decision you can make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

Our son is attending Ridgewood for his 8th year, beginning with PreK. He is now in the 6th grade, and we have been extremely pleased with his overall experience there. The teachers, as well as the administration,are always available and willing to help in any situation. The teachers seem to be qualified in their respective fields, and we have been very pleased with his achievements. We also have been pleased with the way they handle children who have discipline problems. They do not tolerate disruptions in or out of the classroom. We feel very fortunate to have a safe environment for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have two children at Ridgewood and have found it to be a very good school. The teachers are very accessible and the administration is always available. This is a private school for middle-class families that want quality education for their children. Because it is a small school, the teachers seem to know all of the children--even those not in their classes. I have found most of the teachers to be extremely qualified and dedicated to the success of the children. They are available after school every day--some even provide the students with their home phone numbers for homework assistance! Our family is very pleased with Ridegewood Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2004

My child had an awful experience at this school. The teachers are inexperienced and the principal will do nothing to help you. If they encounter any problems with your child, they will make your child sit out of school until thay can schedule a conference with the parents. That doesn't sound too bad, except that it took them a week to do this. And, it was the first week of school. Being a teacher myself, I am appalled. I quickly took my child out and enrolled him in another school where he is doing great. Not one problem or complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 44%
Black 7% 51%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Milton J. Montgomery Jr.
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (504) 837-1864

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Pasadena Avenue
Metairie, LA 70001
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 835-2545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Christopher
Metairie, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT