Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Memorial Baptist Christian

Private | K-3 | 68 students

Memorial Baptist School prides itself on being a top academic school in the city

 
 

Living in Metairie

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $139,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2014

My daughter truly enjoys this school and cherishes the friends she has there. Everyone is like family. Twelve children total are in her first-grade class, making the one-on-one attention she gets outstanding compared to other overcrowded and overrated schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

MBS cares about every student. We do not just care about academics , we care about their spiritual health. All the teachers are college graduates, and are certified by the state. You can easily confirm this on line!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2013

Seeing many good changes taking place here. Currently both of my children are attending here -- I believe they are getting an education by teachers who have excellent character and integrity all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

My daughter attended preschool here, in a wonderful structured Christian setting, and she has excelled at learning differences between right and wrong, and how to treat others with love and respect, in a gentle but firm manner, with truly loving and caring staff. I have also decided to enroll her in Kindergarten after seeing some of the great things Principal Jerry Riggs is doing with this school. This school suffered an awful blow several years ago due to actions of a misguided pastor, and now with its new, young, vibrant pastor -- Pastor Dan -- and Riggs raising the standards and setting the bar higher for the elementary school -- it is fast becoming one of Metairie's best-kept secrets in a private, very affordable Christian learning environment. I have to disagree totally with the last post in which the reviewer questions the new principal's leadership abilities. First of all, the reviewer posted in Sept 2012 when Riggs first came aboard (not even there a month?), and changes do not come overnight. Everything I've heard from/about Pr. Riggs' oversight has been exemplary and long overdue. He truly cares about creating/ maintaining a challenging and caring learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

I enrolled my daughter here for the first time here and was not please with the curriculum which was told ABEKA but not in its entire. It has a mixed curriculum. The new principal Riggs is not great leader for the school. He is not concerned about the overall development for the school or the student as a whole. The teachers are not certified and offer limited teaching abilities with the diverse backgrounds. I was not pleased and withdrew my daughter after a month attendance. Her teacher was not equipped to offer my daughter what I was paying for which was a solid foundation. Above all else Ms Lynn and her staff are awesome. My son goes to the separate preschool and he is learning in a systematic structured setting. The preschool rocks. The upper school does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

The students at Memorial are well prepared for high school. My daughter and son both went to Memorial and are currently in private/catholic high schools. They are excelling in school and are in honors classes. Both have achieved GPA's in the 3.85-4.0 range! Superior foundation and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good academic foundation in a Christian environment. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

What a wonderful school! Teachers who truly love the children and pray for them each morning in prayer circle. Parents who want a God centered education for their child with a good academic track record as well. The children are taught to use Christian principles in their daily living. They look out for one another and encourage each other as well. There are opportunities for parents to serve through the PTF, sports, cheerleading, choir, boy scouts, and girl scouts. It is a very welcoming and supportive school. All you have to do is join in! Also, the students who have attended MBCS have been accepted into all of the private/Catholic high schools in the New Orleans area. A significant number of these students are/have been on the honors track at aforementioned high schools. Would not trade the experience for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I would not recommend this school if you do not start there in PK3. This is our 1st year there & my child is in Kindergarten. They do not allow you to think out the box. It reminds me of a military school. It's gonna be a long year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

I do not recommend this school if u have a child who struggles in school. The teachers do not know how to teach a child who as some learnig disability. My little girl went there for k-5 and will still have to repaeat it because the teacher did not how to teacher her and now she has no confidnece in herself beacuse the teacher basicly labeled her as unteachable and the other kids in the class knew this as well. The school year was not a good one foe me and my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

Small but exceptional school; strong academics and emphasis on Christian education. We have been very pleased with our daughter's education and recommend MBCS. You definitely get your money's worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

We just started at Memorial Baptist for PK-3 and I am so impressed. The teachers are wonderful and handle the children appropriatley. I have older children at another school and wish I had found Memorial for them. At first, I was a little turned off by the appearance of the building, but don't let that stop you. My child is learning so much and the school says that all students read at 4. The administrative staff is super friendly and the Parent Group is very active. They have lots of fund raisers but are very 'no pressure' about them. This school has done it right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

This is a great school! If you are looking for a school that truely cares about your child, I would say this is the one! The teachers and everybody there are very nice and helpful. Their academic programs are great. They have music and alot of art and extracurricular activities. And the parent involement is extremely high. My son attended the PK-4 program and he has learned alot more then I expected. I'm so glad I found this school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 47%
Hispanic 22% 4%
Black 19% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • E. Jerry Riggs
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (504) 887-0610

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Veterans Memorial Boulevard
Metairie, LA 70003
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 887-0533

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Ann School
Metairie, LA


Ecole Classique
Metairie, LA


Torah Academy
Metairie, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT