Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop Rummel High School

Private | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2013

I have just finished my Eight Grade year at this school, and I am coming into my Ninth. I have to say this is an excellent school. I am in the Honors program and I am treated with respect, have great teachers, and excel with the rest of the class. Besides honors, there are programs with students who learn at an average level, and those who need extra support with their learning. Your child will be given a great education, and this school will prepare him to enter college easily, and possibly with a head start.


Posted October 12, 2012

I currently have three sons that attend Rummel, one senior and two eigth graders. I am a Rummel alumnus. I was a little apprehensive four years ago to send my oldest son here because I was hearing negative things about the school from others in the community. None of the negativity was true. We have been truly amazed at how our boys are doing there. They are excited to go to school each day and are very involved. The school leaders and faculty are amazing. They truly treat each child as someone very special who has their own gifts and talents to share with others. My boys are performing well on all standardized tests and my senior is being recruited by schools like Duke and Stanford. If you desire a well rounded son who learns to develop his talents to the fullest, serves others in the community, and steps into leadership roles with ease and a desire to succeed, then Rummel is the place for your son. Rummel also has three academic levels versus the two offered by most other catholic boys schools in the area, but still have 7 out of 10 seniors qualify for TOPS. Their ACT prep course in part of their junior year curriculum. Their academic prgrams are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

If you are considering this school, I reccomend you look elsewhere. The staff here is quite immature about following nitpick rules yet there is no discipline in many classrooms and teachers get run over. Priorities here need to be straightened out. They have a few publicity stunts throughout the year, don't let them fool you. Also, the spend a day is a lie; nothing is as it seems. Go elsewhere, anywhere but this scam. They're in it for your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

My third son is attending Rummel. My husband graduated from Rummel and so did a brother. There is a well rounded education that they rec'd from Rummel. Not only did they learn academically and succeed professionally, but also socially well rounded is the key to success. My youngest son loves ARHS, the teachers and his friends and he is doing better than he ever has. He has become very motiated and ambitious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Many people in the N.O. area are snobs about schools and do not think Rummel is as good as Jesuit. I disagree. I have 2 nephews who are graduates of Rummel. One is a CPA and the other is working on his Masters in Finance. My son is a sophomore at Rummel. Very pleased with Rummel from top to bottom -- academically, spiritually, the campus, etc. Principal and teachers are very caring and concerned about students. My son loves the school. I see great things ahead for him because Rummel is preparing him well. I highly recommend Rummel. Submitted by Cathy Forstall, a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

Two of our sons are ARHS graduates. One has his MA and the other his PhD. Both were accepted at numerous colleges and had multiple scholarship offers. ARHS was an excellent school for them. I was especially impressed with the math department. This school is an excellent choice especially for boys with exceptional math abilities. The neighborhood is safe and the campus is well maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My son attended from 1996-1999. I rate this one of the best overall schools in the New Orleans area. Love the leadership, concern, discipline and control the faculty have with the students. My son now attends college, 2004 graduate, out of state and has been on the Dean's Honor Roll for 4 years. I was in a low income bracket and Rummel helped make it possible for my son to attend the 4 years. My hat goes off to the whole school and I'm always proud to tell everyone that my kid is a Rummel graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My son received an excellant education at Archbishop Rummel. He graduated in 2001 and is currently enrolled in a Louisiana University studying Professional Aviation. The background he received at Archbishop Rummel was excellant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2004

I am particularly impressed by the religion department at Archbishop Rummel High School. 'The over and above what is my job' attitude exists because the religion department considers the spiritual growth of each student to be prized above all else. I am a non-Catholic choosing to have my son eduacted here and can say in all honesty, I know my son is being guided according to God's Word and not one man's opinion. Thank you, Rummel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school not only offers spectacular academic education but also helps the students evolve into respectable and mature young men. They teach from A to Z.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 44%
Black 6% 51%
Hispanic 6% 3%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 663
Metairie, LA 70004
Phone: (504) 834-5592

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Benilde School
Metairie, LA


St. Benilde School
Metairie, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT