Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Hearts burning for Jesus; minds shining with the light of academic excellence.

 
 

Living in Metairie

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $139,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

I have had many family members attend this school over the years. Faces, names, and mascots change, but the spirit does not. VCA is dedicated to educating your child academically and spiritually. This is a spiritual school in a Catholic city. If you want a bumper sticker for your car or you are interested in a country club, then look amongst the better known Catholic and Episcopalian schools. If the soul counts for anything, then consider VCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

My daughter has attended VCA for 6 years and she has become an outstanding reader because of the curriculum used and teachers implementing it. My husband and I are grateful for this school in assisting us to raise our child in the ways of the Lord. It's special to find an educational institution where there are high academic standards AND where Jesus Christ is central to everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

I have been a part of this school in different areas for the past 10 years. The staff truly care about the students and the parents. The goal of VCA is for students to walk away with a wonderful education and a deeper knowledge of Christ. This school is a true gem, and I am so blessed for my daughter to have the safe haven of VCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

This is a pretty good school. It seems everyone (faculty and staff) memorize all the kids names. The environment is very warm and always welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

The teachers really care about each student. The principle is a precious soul. My daughter was in K4 last year and by K4 graduation, she was reading! A wonderful experience ! My daughter can't wait until school starts again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Victory Christian Academy has been around for 25 years, and in those 25 years, they have produced some solid students. I myself graduated from Victory, attended Brother Martin, and then went on to college and grad school. Victory gave me a very strong foundation in Reading/Writing. Now, as far as the 'gifted' kids go that another poster mentioned, Victory is small and tuition is low. They did not offer Honors Classes in the past. They do now offer an Honors Program and Latin. Their Latin students will compete against High School kids in the National Latin Exam. Not many middle schools (maybe 3) in the area offer this. Victory is also very aggressive in the Middle School. Students in Literature must complete 6 book reports a year. And, by the time a student finishes Victory, he will have read 6 works by Shakespeare.


Posted August 27, 2008

I attented this school for three years and was forced to leave because of Hurricane Katrina. I loved this school and hopefully I can come back one day. The teachers and the rest of the staff was always there for me. The completely blessed my life inside and out. This school will completely train you for the future. It is because of them that I have something extra to bring into any other school that I may attend. They also equipped me with the one thing that has always saw me through the hardest times of my life, and that was JESUS CHRIST. I even remember them offering baptisms to the students one year. I hope that God continues to bless this school and everyone who has something to do with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

I attended this school for about nine years, from pre-k 3 until 6th grade. I have so many great memories there. It is a very uplifting environment and the teachers and staff truly care about the students. The foundation in Christ I received from there is so helpful in my walk with him. The one bad thing that I had was the fact that since I am gifted, when I hit about the forth or fifth grade the schoolwork that they had never challenged me. And I had to eventually leave for I knew I would need better academics. I was really sad when I left because I loved everyone so much. Looking back on my time at Victory, I am extremely grateful for the years I spent there. I met life long friends and had a great time. I would reccomend it for any children looking for a good christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

This school is wonderful for the lower grades, with a strong foundation on Christ. However, as your child approaches 4th grade, the teaching goes down. My child is gifted, and the school has no plans to handle above-average students. My recommendation would be to enroll your children at VCA until 4th so they can gain spiritual knowledge, then move them to a more challenging school. The school's focus is purely on Christianity and not academics. It is truly disappointing, because the city of New Orleans really needs a school that our children can grow spiritually and also gain knowledge. They deserve that in order to really succeed in this world and change it for Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 45%
White 34% 47%
Hispanic 21% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Nichols, M.Ed.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (504) 734-3381

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • After School Helps Classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Missionettes Girls Club
  • National Junior Beta Club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5708 Airline Drive
Metairie, LA 70003
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 733-5087

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kehoe-France School
Metairie, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT