Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J.C. Ellis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 566 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2014

Great school and teachers are the best! My kid is happy and learning so fast we are happy too with such a great job, specially Mrs. Irisari yayyyy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

This is a wonderful school with excellent French and Spanish Immersion Programs. The principal in a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

For those who don't know, anyone in Jefferson Parish can attend the Spanish or French immersion program. Bus service is provided if needed. You don't have to live in the school's district to attend. You can call the school for more information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

My kids came home today and said J.C. Ellis is the best school. Well I think the teachers are the best. They teach my kids all day and still have time to talk to us and e-mail us answers we may have. My son has to give a presentation in 2nd grade and I am excited about that. The leadership and teachers are all about the kids and what is best for them. The school lacks a good way to communicate with parents. The Parent organization is a run by a few people who like control, but that really doesn't affect how the kids learn. I would recommend this school especially for the French and Spanish Immersion programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

My granddaughter attends J.C. Ellis. For the most part it is a good school, but I don't think the faculty is on the cutting edge of things. You never see anything publish in the local paper about the school events and the fairs/activities are not that well organized. While I am grateful for the combined years of knowledge that the faculty has, I wish that the school could be more involved.


Posted October 8, 2010

J.C.Ellis is a phenomenal school in every since of the word. My daughter has been attending since PK-4 in the French Immersion program. Sadly, this is her last year there (she is in 5th grade and will be going to middle school). Ms. Berner is a blessing to the school. She has expected and received nothing but the best from each and every student. The teachers at Ellis work with students in a continuous effort to ensure success. Every student there learns respect, morals, discipline, and how to be responsible for their actions. Clearly there needs to be more parental involvement but the school can only encourage it, not demand it. It is up to the parents to accept an active role in their child's education. My second child will be attending Ellis as soon as she is of age too... that's how special the school is to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

My daughter was in the French language immersion 1st grade last year and will be going back for 2nd grade. I love the program and the teachers. I do think that at some school events, like Fall Fest and orientation, things are haphazard and lack order. If they could improve in those areas I would give 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

My daughter is in the kindergarten Spanish immersion program. Her Spanish has really accelerated over the last six months. She is speaking with an authentic Spanish accent. In addition to her wonderful progress in Spanish, she is excelling in English. At bedtime, she reads books to her sister and me. I do recommend this magnet program offered through the Jefferson Parish Public School System, but secretly I would like to keep it to myself so too many people don t find out about the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

Bothe My girls attend JC Ellis and are in the charter french immersion program. The teacher are above norm. Great does not describe them Along with the principle who at one time taught 1st grade and the social worker does not miss a beat. The care and education and values they learn their are better than I could have iimagined. I am glad my girls did not go to Metaire Academy or Audubon International Scholl of Language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

My child is in the Spanish Immersion Program at J.C. Ellis. She started the program in PreK and this year she will go to first grade. As a parent I am very pleased with what she has learned. By the middle of her kindergarden year she was able to read and speak Spanish. This is a wonderful program. The classes are small the staff is great, they are ready to liten and help with any questions are concerns. All around a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

jc ellis' foreign language immersion is an excellent program. The classes are small, 16 kids, and they learn so much! I am truly impressed by the dedication and effort put forth by the faculty and staff at Ellis. This is our second year here, and we are loving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I went here for elementary school, as did my own two children. The new(er) principal is just what this school needed, and the teachers are wonderful, as is the after school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

The faculty and staff are genuinely concerned for the children's well being. They make learning fun, and help the children to be a success. My kids have gone to schools that seem like it's the teachers vs. the parents. This is not the case here. It's like a team working together. Great immersion programs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

Great school where my son attends. The dedication and discipline of the faculty and staff makes this a great environment for kids to learn. Garland Tinson parent of Garen Tinsono
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

My son attends the Spanish Immersion program at JC Ellis Elementary. With a Hispanic background, he was already bilingual when he entered the program, however, his teacher is amazing and has been able to develop even further his knowledge of Spanish. His vocabulary has grown and he's willingness to speak Spanish at home has remarkably improved, as well. The principal is kind of tough, but so was the head master of my Catholic school back in the day and that was what made the school a great one. I hope he can stay there for many years to come...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

This school has the greatest administration and teachers.. From the secretary, Linda, Mr Malcom, even to the groundskeeper, Andre, Everyone goes above and beyond for the students. The staff are reluctant to involve the principal, which says to me she hasn't built a solid rapport. She dictates, delegates, but doesn't lead. But the staff prevail and I can't say enough wonderful things about this school as a whole. Parents are involved, informed and incorporated into the daily operations. It could use some additional extracurricular activities.. but that is a funding issue. JC Ellis has consecutively tested at the top academically. I have accepted a job in Vegas and we are moving.. We will truly miss being with JC Ellis. Keep up the great work team. We'll miss you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

My daughter is in the French Immersion program at J.C.Ellis. She started last year in Pre-K and moved up to Kindergarten without hesitation. She loves it and she is thrilled to speak french fluently. The best part is that my daughter is starting to read in french and english! The French teachers are outstanding. Every teacher goes above and beyond for their students! Students are encouraged to read. They have creative Math and Science lessons. Children are learning academics and manners here! The front office and principal know every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

My daughter attended 4th & 5th grade at Ellis. She came from a public elementary in Kenner. At the other school she was on the honor roll, when she started Ellis she made C's, D's & F's; the teachers were 'reviewing' things taught in 3rd (at Ellis) that she had never seen before! It was difficult at first, but the teachers took the extra time she needed; by the second 9 wks she was A-B honor roll. The principal has a long standing, though accurate reputation for not playing games; I believe that's what makes Ellis the outstanding school it is today. A tough principal= a tough faculty= strong school. Though not a participant, my dtr. often spoke of many extracurricular activities at school, the level of parental involvement was amazing! I wouldn't hesitate recommending this school to anyone given the oppurtunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 47%
Black 24% 45%
Hispanic 24% 4%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Julie Berner
Fax number
  • (504) 833-7255

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Brockenbraugh Court
Metairie, LA 70005
Phone: (504) 833-7254

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT