Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marie B. Riviere Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 439 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2014

Riviere Elementary is a excellent school! I am so happy with the choice I made to send my child there since Pre-K. He is now in the fourth grade and LOVES going to school everyday. We have a wonderful principal, He truly cares about all of his students and knows everyone by name. If you make the time to become a involved parent and work as a team with your child's teachers you will be very pleased. Riviere has some of the best, hardworking and caring teachers you can find. I have seen my child and others learn and grow so much, it's a wonderful thing to witness. We will miss the Rivi re family when he graduates next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

My child has been at this school for 5 years. I loved this school up until this year, 4th grade. I'm sorry, but I feel the teaches are not teaching these kids very well. My child has always been on honor roll, but this year it seems impossible. On alot of the test she is given 1 wrong is a C. Over Thanksgiving she had 3 packets (15 to 30 questions each), 2 Science tests to do online, read a book, Math workbook pages, and writing math facts. I mean I'm all for giving them some work, but this poor kid didn't even get a break. Even I need a break! I didn't have that much homework in college!! I'm having to pay and put her in private tutoring b/c they do no offer tutoring until the child is failing. I'm not going to wait until that happens. I send her teachers emails and get no response. Also, some teachers this year don't tell them prior to testing. Maybe some kids don't need to study the night before but mine does. She needs the extra review even though we do homework every night. Like I said, I used to be this schools #1 fan but after this year I'm seriously thinking about sending her somewhere else. It's really disappointing :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

My daughter has been a student here since pre-k. I am happy with what this school has taught her. The only complaint would be the "mean teachers" in 4th grade. My child would tell me that her 4th grade teacher yelled at the kids and herself, and homework was a nightmare! The only suggestion I would give is to fire all 4th grade teachers from last year. This year everything so far so good as this will be her final year here. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

This was a Great Elementary School. I have been there since 4th grade (more exactly: half of 4th grade). In only 1.5 years, I found this school to be great. I highly Recommend this school. *Riviere Student*


Posted March 12, 2013

All I can is that the principal screamed at my child and me! She asked him a question, he did not respond, I responded for him and she rudely said, "I'm not asking you, I'm asking him." I said he is only 5yrs. old and your tone scares him. She just screamed, "Well get out of here!" I hope one day, someone will report he to the School Board. She's supposed to be a role model, not a scare crow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

My daughter is a 5th grader now. She strated Pre-K here and been here all these years. Great teachers and principal. Always very helpful. We love Riviere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

I am not impressed. My daughter is a third grader, she ha been a student at Marie B Rivi re we are so tired of the rudeness, horrible food and teachers who do not do there jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

been there since 3rd grade it never gets boring its like u dont want a summer and want more fun at schooool!!! i love u mrs.bonnnnettteee!!!<3 teachers are sooo nice awesome schoooooooooooooooool!! you should try it get adapted to i \t quick just went to it today and picked up my couisin!!


Posted August 14, 2011

My son attended this school last year for kindergarten and he did really well. He had homework ever night. He was learning new things everyday and was very excited to come home to tell me what he was learning. We are excited to start the new school year and with all the enthusiasm a child and parent can have. Riviere is a really wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My son LOVES Riviere!!! He will be in the second grade in the fall and has attended the school since kndergarten. They have a before/aftercare program (thats affordable), which is important. The staff has always been courteous and caring. I am amazed at how much he has learned in the past year. He was given a steady dose of homework weekly, but I don't think it was ever too much. I like that the school offers several field trips througout the year. Both on and away from campus. The PTO hosts different nights, science night, international night, family game night. It give you the chance to meet the children your child talks about everyday. I cannot foresee my son changing schools until the sixth grade. Like I said, he loves Riviere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

In response to the "unhappy parent" with first grade @ Riviere...obviously, you haven't been at Riviere long, have you? I have two children in Riviere, one of which was in first grade last year and did fantastic. I'm very surprised and disappointed to hear your comment, but we're all entitled to our opinion. However, let me educate you! Parents that have attended Riviere are now sending their children to Riviere. The first grade teachers have been there for a long time and have proven to be GREAT teachers. The school is known for their outstanding scores, as well as parent and teacher involvement. Maybe you're missing something. In closing, any decent parent would be proud to send their child to Riviere. Is your child still there??????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

I am not at all happy with my son's first grade teacher. The main problem is she does not give any grades from what I can see. I have a pile of classwork, none of it appears to have even been looked at. We make it a priority to do homework right after school, it often comes back the next day and has not even been looked at. Today my 6 year old told me the teacher was frustrated with the class and said they are "Insane." He has also told me the assistant teacher has said she's worked with schools for years and "this is the worst class I ever had." Who says things like that in front of children? There are several behavior issues in the class, mostly from one child who punches and hits other children. I would not recommend this school to any decent parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My son is in kindergarten at Marie Riviere. My son has struggled through pre-k at another school and was beginning to struggle in kindergarten. His teacher, Mrs. Martin, and the school Couselor, Mr. Luckett, worked with my son and me. Through tests and evaluations, I found out that my son has ADHD-combined. This school has done WONDERS for my son! He has made a complete 180 in school, and is now able to be proud of himself, along with MANY other people in his life. I don't know what I would have done without the help and support from the school counselor and my son's teacher. I would be forever greatful to Marie Riviere!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Marie Riviere and I have been so impressed with the level of education that she received this year. She has Ms Schmidt for Kindergarten and I would highly recommend her to any parent whose student is going into Kindergarten. The students come first at Marie Riviere. I was new to Louisiana this year as was nervous because I had not heard positive things about public education in Louisiana, but the faculty at Marie Riviere has shown me that there are good public schools out there. I can not believe that Jefferson Parish Public Schools would consider closing this high performing school. If they follow through on this decision, then Jefferson Parish Public schools will show that they are more concerned about money then they are about our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My daughter is in the school from 4th grade to now, she has a good time there. The teachers assign the homework everyday and collect it next day. I like it. I want to send my second daughter in the same school, ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

I have been to Marie B. Rivere since pre.k. While I was growing up over the years, I realized how great this school is. The teachers are very friendly and they have high teaching skills.Parents love seeing there children coming home with a big smile on their face. The sports at Marie B. Riviere are mostly in P.E. For example,they have this incredible sport named 'kick ball'. I guarantee your child will have fun with that sport! Also,Marie B. Riviere has an academic program called 'Gt'.GT means gifted.If your child has excellent grades your child will be tested for GT. The Principals at this school, when I was growing up are very kind.I would also like to say is that the office's staff are very kind and helping people.So as a student in Marie Riviere I recomend your child to participate in this brilliant,high academic school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

my daughter has been at Riviere since 2nd grade this is a really excellent school the teachers, staff, and especially the parents make the education and learning experiences that the children get very exceptional I would advise any parent to enroll their child/children in Marie Riviere L.Robinson
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 47%
Hispanic 35% 4%
Black 14% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of Recognized Academic Growth (2003)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 3:15
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Marc S Milano
Fax number
  • (504) 835-8943

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1564 Lake Avenue
Metairie, LA 70005
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 835-8439

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Dominic School
New Orleans, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT