Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Ann School

Private | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Metairie

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $196,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

The teachers at St. Ann are great but it is way pay due for a leadership change. The principal does not seem to have the best interest of the children in mind. Class sizes have steadily increased over the past years - classes are too large now. The anti-bullying stance at St. Ann is severely lacking. Reports of bullying are not handled seriously. If it wasn't for the dedication of the teachers at St. Ann my child would not be at St. Ann.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

My child has been at St. Ann for the past 6 years. He has been labeled due to his learning disability. The principal is only concerned with making excellent standardized test scores. The pressure is unbelievable. My child has no confidence at all. They do not give a chance to learn with already labeling him. St. Ann is a disgrace for a school. EVERY CHILD is unique, they are not robots.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

St. Ann Elementary School is very child focused. The staff is extremely professional. I appreciate the excellent education and spiritual guidance given to my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

My child started PK at St. Ann and is still there. I have nothing but great things to say about the school and administration. There are very few Catholic schools that have smart boards in every class and a Cirriculum Coordinator. I toured all possible schools in my area before sending my child here and do not regret it. My child is academically advanced compared to other kids her ages that go to other Catholic schools. No school is every perfect and I would hope that people that post reviews give a more a "bigger picture" review. I have friends that send their kids to extremely expensive private schools and parents are still unhappy with one thing or another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

This is an amazing school with an excellent balance of education with spiritual learning! The office staff is beyond friendly and helpful, as well as the counselors. I love that the teachers always make themselves available to speak with you when they are not teaching. I can not say much about the standardized scoring as we have not done any tests there as of yet. The school is always clean. I believe that St. Ann is absolutely worth the money. I know my son is safe and happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

My 3 chidren attend St. Ann and are receiving a strong academic foundation as well as excellent spiritual guidance. Teachers care about them and go the extra mile to make sure they are succeeding. My children score well on the standarized tests which is due to prep they receive in the classrooms. Through the school we have become associated with many quality families. Glad we are part of St. Ann School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Big mistake sending my children to this school. Yes, there is time for prayer and worship in school, but academically, my children are not learning as much compared to my nieces in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

As an involved grandparent and an educator, I have observed a strong Catholic spirit at SAS. The students are given age-appropriate opportunities for prayer, worship, and service. There is a dedicated faculty and administration that closely monitor the students' progress. Individual students' needs are met each afternoon in voluntary tutoring sessions. Technology use is integrated across the curriculum. Also parents are kept informed regarding the school calendar, events, homework, and student grades via an online educational web service.


Posted October 11, 2010

My granddaughter goes there, and it has a fantastic teaching program


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers are too strict. To many kids in a classroom. I can't believe I wasted my money here. I am going to send my kids to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

My daughter is enrolled at the Early Childhood 3 program at St. Ann. Before St. Ann she attended day care, which was nice but pretty much just day care, no real teaching. From the first day she started at St. Ann I noticed her speech improved dramatically, and while at first I thought they were a bit strict on her, she fit in perfect after the first week. She has become a LOT more disciplined and learns SO much on a day to day basis. I would recommend this school to anyone. She is only in their Pre-K program and doing great! I am beyond pleased. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My three children attended St Ann for all of elementary school. I have nothing but positive feedback about this school. It is academically one of the strongest schools in Metairie, while maintaining a positive attitude about the social development of the child. The principal is outstanding, and so is her choices of teachers. I would give St. Ann a perfect score! My family and I thank you all for the wonderful job you did in preparing our 3 children for the challenges of high school, college and life!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 47%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Black 1% 45%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan R. Kropog
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (504) 455-9572

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4921 Meadowdale Street
Metairie, LA 70006
Phone: (504) 455-8383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ecole Classique
Metairie, LA





Torah Academy
Metairie, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT