Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richwood High School

Public | 8-12 | 495 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2009

I think it is a great school for students to learn
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

I am currently a student a richwood high school and I jus love the school.Its a very healthy environment and the teachers and staff are just awesome,its like one big happy family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

Richwood is a great school of prestige. I am a current student of our high academic scholars that attend RIchwood. I love my school and the great environment that it provides. It is the perfect size as far as the number of students and for the most part everyone get along like a tight knit family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

I am very excited about Richwood, my children have attended 1 will be graduating this year. I am personally grateful to the staff,wonderful teachers who push for excellence in them and I hope they continue in the following years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

Richwood High could be a better school than what it is right now. The teachers are teaching and doing their jobs. It is up to the students to be at school and WANT TO LEARN and to make the grades and to improve the Learning Enviroment at Richwood High School. I go to Richwood and same things that happen at Richwood goes on at the others schools in the parish. We have to improve the score and the school will be okay.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2005

Most people brag on Richwood's football or basket ball teams, beacause that's the only thing the can brag about. The teachers let the atheletes out of the classes just so they can practice. How do you think we won tje championship. Those ball players practiced a whole month without going to class. That's why this year Richwood sent transfer slips in every students back-to-school mail.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2005

I think that Richwood is a fine school everyone might put us down but we always will overcome. We are #1 in basketball, footbvall and track. The school has morals and the rules are strictly enforced and the students do mine the hall patrol.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2005

Richwood is a school were students can find themselves and have a fresh start! It is a great school and opens doors to new and improved learning skills! The principle is hard working and very dedicated to keeping the school in ups!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2004

Richwood High School, out of all the school I have attended, happens to be best,outstanding, respectful school I have ever seen. I just enjoy being a student at that school. I feel so very happy and joyful when I enter the school building because everyone there is my family.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
13%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
19%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
27%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
11%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 45%
White 2% 49%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anthony Killian
Fax number
  • (318) 361-9810

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5901 Highway 165 S
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: (318) 361-0467

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT