Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 474 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

So far I have had one child to graduate from CPU, I will have another one come out of CPU next school year. I have one more yet to start school and i want more then anything for him to attend CPU just as his sister and brother has from pre k until 6 the grade. I love everything about this school, and the staff that have spent time and energy with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I give this school five stars without any hesitation. We specifically moved to the neighborhood we are living in now so that my child could attend CPU. He has been in this school since Pre-K, and so far all of his teachers have been wonderful. They have all been understanding and have gone over and beyond what is necessary to keep him challenged in the classroom. The principal is just as caring and concerned about his needs being met in the classroom. She also goes out of her way to make sure that all of her teachers have access to the latest available technolgy so that the students can be kept actively engaged and be prepared for the real world. If you want your child to have a good foundation for middle school, high school, and beyond, send them to Cypress Point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

well i must comment again cpu is the very best mrs. cook has really has progressed and i commend her for that so keep excelling because one day all the hard work will definately pay off
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Excellent Principal & staff. I moved my children from a private school to Cypress Point. I love the entire staff & they are a wonderful team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This is a wonderful school! The principal of this school has excellent leadership qualities. She has done an outstanding job in only her second year as principal. She enforces the rules in a fair and just manner. The students are excited about the many new technology programs that have been implemented at the school to help improve reading and math skills. Thanks to the leadership of Mrs. Ann Cook, Cypress Point is on its way to becoming one of the top ranked schools in north Louisiana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I can't say that this school is a horrible school! My experience is that the school is an efficiently run school with a caring staff and a Principal who is very concerned with the welfare of each and every child. Individual needs are met for every child and no one is given special consideration just because of who they think they are. The lack of parental participation is the only concern that I have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I am commenting on the previous review. CPU is a FINE school with a dedicated principal. The comments made about negativity throughout the school is simply false. My child has been at this school for 6 years and has never had problems. I feel that the parents should be more involved and certainly more sensitive to the every day battles that each staff member (principal on down to cafeteria worker) has to endure. Not only included in this statement is disrespectful students AND parents but federal guidelines as well which is constant bookwork. If this particular parent truly feels this way, I invite them to volunteer at the school during the day to alleviate some of the stress that occurs. Or AT LEAST attend a PTO meeting. Lets be a little more 'put yourself in the other's shoes.' It makes for more understanding on both sides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

This school is horrible. The principal is rude and just all out mean to her staff members. Some of the teachers are so careing while others are there just for the pay check. I have never in my life seen such a horribly run school. Teachers are overheard speaking negativly about students and their parents. This school is the last place any parent should send their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 45%
White 6% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ann Cook
Fax number
  • (318) 345-3224

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6701 Mosswood Drive
Monroe, LA 71203
Phone: (318) 345-5666

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lakeshore School
Monroe, LA





Sherrouse School
Monroe, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT