Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mt. Hermon School

Public | PK-12 | 514 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2012

Coming from a different school district I am impressed. I have three children two of which went to an elementary school in another district and struggled with reading. When I switched one of them to Mt. Hermon she began making improvements in reading and is now in 6th grade & on honor roll while my other child, that didn't make the switch, is still struggling. My third child started at Mt. Hermon in Pre-K and has been honor roll every year every nine weeks. This to me is proof that the elementary has educated and caring teachers who do their best to help each child succeed. In addition, the principal is awesome! She is very positive and encouraging to all students and faculty. I can't think of another elementary school I would rather send my children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

This is a wonderful school to be at. The elementary teachers are some of the best our parish has to offer. The family like atmosphere that you feel at this school provides a safe learning enviroment for our children. The principal is the best. She is always positive with an abundant amount of enery to keep this PreK-12 school moving in the right direction. I coulod not think of a better place that I would rather send my kids to. Once you are here you are part of a BIG family.


Posted March 14, 2012

I love this school! I have three kids going here and coming from a different school district I have to say I'm impress. No school is perfect and not every parent will be happy. The more you as a parent are involved the more understanding you will have. I love the small student to teacher class room. The teachers are not over loaded with kids so it is harder for your kid to fall behind. The PTO are very involved and present almost everyday at school. They do fun and rewarding things for the kids. Also funrasing to put money back into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

I have two children at MHS, and I have to say I can't imagine a better school for my kids. The teachers are highly qualified, approachable and care about my kids. The new principal is FANTASTIC - very involved in all things MHS. The PTO is growing and active. I'm also impressed with the new focus on reading for enjoyment. High stakes testing is important, but is not the focus of the school day. It's very community-minded. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I am happy to send my child to Mt. Hermon School. My son is in the 2nd grade and loves the school. Sure our school is not perfect, but the students of all grade levels are learning and they are safe while they attend school. I wish that more parents would become involved in our school and they could see just what a great school we have!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Hi, I am a mother of a child that goes to mt. hermon school. I have met her math teacher but comes to find out she does not teach good. Mt. hermon needs more teachers. Me I think that the kids that took the LEAP and, ILEAP should be rewarded with a party or a dance for doing their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

Hi Everyone, I am a current student at MHS and i am in the 10th grade. i just have to say i love MHS. And if you are a student who is willing to learn, you will learn. ANd yes, we do care about dress code and things to this matter; however i have to disagree that it is more important than learning to the faculty here. I think if any paretn is looking into putting there kid or kids here they should. IT is a excellent school. mhs softball player :)_
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2010

I have three children that attend this god-awful excuse for a school. The teachers are uneducated and can barely speak proper english. Example: my youngest came home last week with a test that had the word banana marked as incorrectly spelled. Next to the mark the teacher writes 'bananna'. How can this woman teach my child english if she can't spell? Another incident with my oldest the teacher corrects the use of the word 'has' with the words 'gots'. Are they serious? Several incidents such as this have occurred since my kids have attended this facility. The teachers and staff are more concerned with what the students are wearing than actually teaching. One of my girls has been diagnosed with ADHD and is supposed to receive special services (pulled into a small group for test taking etc.) Since this service has been provide her grades have consistently dropped. More......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I'm a student here at Mt. Hermon School . This is a great school to attend. I help out a lot at the school, and all of the teachers, principals, and staff are the best! If you are looking for a school to send your children to this would be an ideal school. The talk about the principal that needs to retire is extremely wrong! The principal at Mt. Hermon is the best you could ask for. She would help you with anything you need help with. Our principal is Ms. Stoudenmier and she is the BEST. Mt. Hermon has great test scores and goes over and beyond for their students. If you are a parent or student that would like to become a part of our school I would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

This is a great school with only 1 problem, the principal, it is time for her to retire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Hello I am the mom from Sept. 2006, And I am here to tell you that I am disappoited in our school. Now all they care about is what the kids are wearing and leap.. Not about teaching and our principles just do not want to be bothered, they are no help to the parents!!! The bad kids rule this school and the good kids pay the price!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This is a wonderful school! They love the kids & involve parents in all aspects of their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

Hi, I go to Mt. Hermon and I think this is an excellent school. I enjoy there activities, teachers, and my classes all together.This would be a great school to let your kids go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2003

im a past student now in the military field. I belive that this was a great school, with great opportunties and I plan on moving back and letting my children attend Mt.Hermon High School also.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

41 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

41 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
11%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
29%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
67%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 47%
Black 32% 45%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Byrd
Fax number
  • (985) 877-4710

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

36119 Louisiana 38
Mt. Hermon, LA 70450
Phone: (985) 877-4642

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bowling Green School
Franklinton, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT