Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Midway Elementary School

Public | PK-2 | 734 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

I agree this is the worst school in school history they will call cps on you everyday and every year to get your kids took from you they don't like men at all so kids in a single parent home is a plus to better work with the process of destroying families. I know a lady son fell down at the park and bumped his head they took him in a private room and made him say his parents did it after the child said he fell I've seen for my own eyes watched the teachers plan on how to create ways to give parents problems and get there kids out of the home. they are #1 for diagnosing kids with adhd are any mental illness and if you do not agree with there rules they will call cps on you and try to get your kids took this is the worst scholl out of all the worst schools in Louisiana stay away !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Because they do their best for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

I love Midway Elementary School! The teachers are superb! My children have all learned many good things there and excelling academically. -Best School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Midway has such a caring and loving environment for students. It's a place where children feel important. They not only learn academics but also chartacter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

It is my heart. I am the former principal. Retired 5 years ago.


Posted November 2, 2010

The teachers are awesome!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

The teaching staff is wonderful, as well as those in the Principal's office.


Posted October 28, 2010

This is such a caring school and staff. Love the school environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2010

Love this school. Great program, wonderful teachers. 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

Seems to be a great school! My niece nd nephew attend this school, and they are always learning something fun and new! Teachers a great, very awesome with the kids. I think this school deserves any and everything it desires!


Posted October 28, 2010

Awesome school! As a teacher and a past student of Midway, I feel faculty and staff are always working together to do whatever it takes to help our students achieve!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2010

The teachers and staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Because they are very helpful to the childrens that go their i see a progress in my childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

This is an outstanding school, with teachers who go above and beyond to help each student. Both the individualized and group instruction are beyond satisfactory!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Awesome teaching staff and administrators
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2010

My child is Kaitlynn Farlouis and she is in Ms. Christy's Kindergarten class. Her teacher really is caring, supportive, and she takes time to help my child understand and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

This is my son's 2nd year at Midway. He's in first grade and has one of the most excellent and dedicated teachers that I've ever seen. I was actually worried about the quality of teacher he would have this year b/c I felt like the teacher he had in kindergarten would be hard to top. I was absolutely worried for no reason. My son is 6 years old and has learned how to read so well in the short time that this school year has been in session. He's so proud when he comes home and is able to read a story to us. He absolutely LOVES his teacher and looks forward to seeing her every day. I love the fact that she pushes and challenges them a little more every day. I can actually see just how much he has learned so far in her class and am extremely proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

Great school...My son has had great teachers so far! Although no one will ever replace Mrs. Daphne in Seth's eyes! She was always looking out fot his best interest in learning & how to keep him learning! He likes Mrs. Mandy also, she seems to be a great teacher! My hats off to them!! Midway is always asking parents to be a part of their activities! And the office staff is great! This is a wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

I love Midway because every minute of the day is spent meeting the individual needs of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2010

The Teachers are great, and they really care!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 45%
White 38% 47%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Glenda O'Banion
Fax number
  • (985) 345-3107

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P. O. Box 69
Natalbany, LA 70451
Phone: (985) 345-2376

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trafton Academy
Hammond, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT