Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Natchitoches Magnet School

Public | 1-8 | 317 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

My school is very exciting. We learn a lot of new things like the new " Common Core " to help us do wonderful on the big test... I have been at this school every since 1st grade and I am in 7th ... this school has really changed my life and improved my grades! Right now we have a council to help us with money saving which I really LOVE! .... So we try to figure out things that would help us save money to get new things done to our school and have fun things go on like have a step team come and tell us about drugs .... I'd really love it if you would help us out by letting us win this money! :) thanks!!!!


Posted September 26, 2013

This is my child's first year as a Mustang! I believe he couldn't be at a better school than Magnet! Great staff and a great education system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Natchitoches Magnet School teaches a child to be positive, respectful, independenty, dedicated and encouraging. Also, a child leans how to be responsible and safe. The child is challenged to learn more and more and the learning experience is fun. Parents are held responsible by signing the agenda daily and communicating with the school. Conduct grades reflect any agenda that is not signed. All are accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

I believe that going to Magnet is a great experience for parents wanting their kids to get an education. I am a 6th grade student Mustang and know we have activities like cheer,which I do,basketball,football, 4-H, Quiz Bowl, and other activities to do. All grades 1-8 have hands-on things instead of just sitting in a classroom. We also provide an orchestra or art option starting in 5th grade. When getting into 6th grade or up you get other options, in 6th adding choir to an option list. Your kids has to have a 2.5 grade point average or more to be entered in Magnet to be a Mustang. Even with the low average to even be considered, the teachers definitely teach at a higher grade level for your child. To be a Mustang is a honor to take pride in!


Posted May 6, 2010

The school has helped to challenge my child's learning abilities. It has challenged him to do better and think more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Best teachers, great curriculum. My child is excited to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Our school was established in 2005 under Superintendent Dr. Elwanda Murphy who is now retired. My daughter has been a student at the Magnet since it's opening. This is her last year at Magnet and her time spent here has been one of the most enjoyable, fun-filled, and exciting but most of all an excellent learning opportunity that will last for a lifetime. Our school is a great school with highly qualified teachers and the teachers are all certified. Our principal Mrs. Julie Wright works very diligently all hours of the day and night to ensure our children are prepared for the next level of education. Here at the Natchitoches Magnet School our students are excelling in all areas of academics, sports,and community involvement in which our students give his/her best each day. Our teachers are positive role models and interact with all the children at school. We love our school, faculty and staff but most of all our children. Keep up the good work team! I'm proud of our Natchitoches Magnet School! Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

They expect excellence of our children and equip them with the tools to achieve excellence. Society expecting less is teaching our kids to sleep through life instead of shaping the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

The teachers work together so that each child can recognize what his/her potentials are. The teachers greet all the students by name; not just the ones in their class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I love Natchitoches Magnet because the teachers are all certified & hand picked by our qualified & professional principal. I also love it becuase my son loves it & learn something new everyday. He really love going to school & being ahead of most his peers that attend other schools in the sam parish. He loves exploring new ideas & he come home daily sharing what he's learned. I love the Magnet because it is not overcrowded & it does not limit my son to learning as some of the local schools in the parish. I'd like to say, 'Thanks' to the person that made Magnet school happen. Thanks for giving my son the opportunity of a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This is my daughters second year at the Nat. Magnet School and I love it. Julee Wright is doing a wonderful job! My only complaint is that it ends at 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Magnet challenges our students to their capabilities. It is a fun school and the teachers all have a great relationship with each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

What I love about Magnet is that it is more like a family than a school. Everyone knows each other and the teachers care about all of the students...not just the ones who are in their class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

I love the magnet school.I have only been going to the magnet school for a year ,but i just love it so much!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

I love the Magnet school. It has a wonderful environment and great teachers and well behaved and mannered students and they are lead by a great leader,Mrs.Wright! GO MIGHTY MUSTANGS!!!!


Posted November 28, 2008

The magnet school is great!! I am a student and i love it there! at other schools there were huge behavior problems and toooo many people getting held back! At the magnet we have lots of opprotunities and extracurricular activities, like basketball, football, and softball!! There is never any behavior problems, I can actually sit in a classroom and listen and learn without inappropriate distractions and behavior! You are very lucky if you go to the Magnet! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2008

This is the best school I have ever been to. The kids are really nice to me. I have alot of good experiences.This school is awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

The Magnet has a wonderful learning environment. The kids like going to school and there are no discipline problems. All schools should be ran as well as the Magnet. You are extremely fortunate if your children have the privilege to attend the Magnet School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 45%
White 49% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Julee Wright
Fax number
  • (318) 354-1122

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3707 University Parkway
Natchitoches, LA 71457
Phone: (318) 357-1252

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT