Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
It is the best public high school in the State of Louisiana. My son has the opportunity to study with academically gifted students like himself.

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a community member
The Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts has the best of all worlds: bright kids, challenging classes, wonderful enrichment activities, and broad exposure to the arts. Every child should be so lucky to attend a school like this one!


Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
It lets those gifted individuals with little resources sore into a world of opportunity.

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted October 05, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful school!! The teachers are outstanding. I have a sophmore there this year, this is the second year that they've accepted sophomores. He absolutely loves it. It is a lot more challenging than his old school and he's having to work a lot harder, but he is very interested in the classes, is really learning, not just doing 'busy' work as he often had in his old school. Wonderful place, the teachers and staff care about the students, the students are interested in learning, the dorm staff is wonderful also. I would highly recommend this place for anyone with a high acheiving child. They won't be bored here and they won't be wasting their time, as happens in regular school so much!! Great environment and great learning atmosphere, along with caring, well organized faculty and staff.

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted July 01, 2008
- a parent
Finishing up my review: I wanted to say the PhD history and science teachers are absolutely outstanding. Fantastic and gifted teachers passionate about their subjects. Re: the bootcamp nonsense--if only! My daughter had to learn to get off Facebook and do some homework, and this school did make a dent in that activity, finally. She certainly wasted enough time after school on non-academic interests. Which means, there is certainly time after school to hang out and enjoy life as well as keep up your grades, even if you tend to procrastinate as my child does. I'm very grateful that she had the opportunity to attend this school and learn some basic time management skills before attending college, where she would have floundered her freshman year for sure. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL for its academics & shaping of the individual student.


Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 4

Posted September 19, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 5

Posted September 13, 2006
- a former student
Top rate academics and opportunities beyond what normal high schools offer. This school really prepares you well for college and life. If a child is mature enough, then it's definitely no brainer to send them here, especially if their old high school do not offer many advanced classes. I would have had only 1 class to take my senior year if I remained in my district. However, there are few students who should have stayed home. Loved the faculty here. They're great. Very supportive and reaches out to students. Appreciated all their help and efforts. - Class of 2001

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts 3

Posted December 13, 2005
- a former student
Some kids love this school, others hate it. The academics are great, and if your kid is bored at their school and wants to commit the majority of their remaining highschool life to academics then this is the school for them. Otherwise, I'd tell your kid to hold off until college. You only get better scholarships if you just want to go to LSU. The reason for this is that the school is so competitive. It's insane some of the projects these kids do, but if you're kid is a nerd and likes all that then they'll be incredibly happy. But, if your kid just happens to be smart and likes having a life beyond school, I do not recommend it because it's like academic boot camp for college without most of the fun. -alumni class of 2005

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts
715 University Parkway, Natchitoches, LA  71457
(318) 357-3174
Last modified Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Louisiana School For Math Science & The Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.