Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Catholic High School

Private | 4-12

 
 

Living in New Iberia

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $87,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

I have 3 children attending this school. It is one of the top educational institutions in Louisiana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2013

This is a really caring school with a good balance between academic and non-academic pursuits. Although it is definitely a Catholic school, it welcomes all. The vast majority of graduates are accepted to the college of their choice. The turbulent period during the time when Tim Uhl was principal (falling enrollment and significant changeover in faculty) is history. Since the advent of Ray Simon enrollment has recovered, faculty have stabilized and a growing musical program established. The school runs annual retreats for 9-12 and has regular worship as well as service programs. CHS provides a good all-round education in a supportive, caring yet challenging Christian environment. I'm truly blessed to be associated with such a good school.


Posted September 16, 2009

A wonderful education, with kind people and educators without all the violence!!!! A Christian school and close nit classmates!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

I believe that Catholic High is a very influential school. Not only does it have a great educational system, but it also has great people to be around. Ever since Dr. Timothy Uhl became prinicipal at this school, students GPA's rose dramatically due to a slight change in the faculty with new members. Also, the athletic programs have been on the rise too. The boy's basketball team has been turning heads ever since head coach William Dreher set foot on the campus. The baseball team has been doing tremendous throughout the years and I don't think it will stop. The math and science departments have been very successful due to a very wonderful and kindred person, Donald Voorhies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

There is an incongruity among the administration in the elementary, jr. high, and elementary. The elementary children are really penalized far too heavily for things such as uniform violations, homework,haircuts, and unecessary issues like that when I think the younger kids should be allowed more flexibility and tolerance. I think they need to focus more on what the children are being taught and how it's being taught than making kids doing unecessary work like making them write things over and over. Being a hard teacher or unflexible doesn't make you a good teacher. There are some great teachers, but some seem like they're there to hide out from the bad public school kids- and just don't get it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

Catholic High has a great fitness program, and the staff is super-friendly. I think that the school focuses more on the high school and not as much on the middle and elementary wings. I don't think it is fair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2006

For a private school, Catholic High places too much emphasis on athletics and the arts program is almost nonexistant. I feel that it is most lacking a decent music program, which I think the students, parents, and many teachers would love to have. CHS definitely has a many dedicated personnel, but this is definitely not across the board. Overall the administration is far too concerned with superfluous things, such as the ever-changing uniform policy and other useless regulations than with truly maintaning and improving the academic quality.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2004

I beg to differ with the comments stated previously (by the way, the correct spelling is excellent). You are right about the Math Department, but both the English and Science departments deserve recognition also. As a seventh year teacher in the English Department at CHS, I feel confident in knowing that the students are receiving what they need from our team of teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2003

Excellant High School Math Program, English could use some improvement.Too bad there are no longer any nuns or brothers. Fine traditions, lots of family involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 47%
Black 11% 45%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 Delasalle Drive
New Iberia, LA 70560
Phone: (337) 364-5116

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Edward School
New Iberia, LA




Epiphany Day School
New Iberia, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT