Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-12
Private
New Iberia, LA
Students enrolled: 835

5 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Catholic High School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
I have 3 children attending this school. It is one of the top educational institutions in Louisiana.

Catholic High School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a community member
This is a really caring school with a good balance between academic and non-academic pursuits. Although it is definitely a Catholic school, it welcomes all. The vast majority of graduates are accepted to the college of their choice. The turbulent period during the time when Tim Uhl was principal (falling enrollment and significant changeover in faculty) is history. Since the advent of Ray Simon enrollment has recovered, faculty have stabilized and a growing musical program established. The school runs annual retreats for 9-12 and has regular worship as well as service programs. CHS provides a good all-round education in a supportive, caring yet challenging Christian environment. I'm truly blessed to be associated with such a good school.


Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
A wonderful education, with kind people and educators without all the violence!!!! A Christian school and close nit classmates!

Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2009
- a student
I believe that Catholic High is a very influential school. Not only does it have a great educational system, but it also has great people to be around. Ever since Dr. Timothy Uhl became prinicipal at this school, students GPA's rose dramatically due to a slight change in the faculty with new members. Also, the athletic programs have been on the rise too. The boy's basketball team has been turning heads ever since head coach William Dreher set foot on the campus. The baseball team has been doing tremendous throughout the years and I don't think it will stop. The math and science departments have been very successful due to a very wonderful and kindred person, Donald Voorhies.

Catholic High School 4

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
There is an incongruity among the administration in the elementary, jr. high, and elementary. The elementary children are really penalized far too heavily for things such as uniform violations, homework,haircuts, and unecessary issues like that when I think the younger kids should be allowed more flexibility and tolerance. I think they need to focus more on what the children are being taught and how it's being taught than making kids doing unecessary work like making them write things over and over. Being a hard teacher or unflexible doesn't make you a good teacher. There are some great teachers, but some seem like they're there to hide out from the bad public school kids- and just don't get it.


Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2008
- a student
Catholic High has a great fitness program, and the staff is super-friendly. I think that the school focuses more on the high school and not as much on the middle and elementary wings. I don't think it is fair.

Catholic High School 3

Posted August 07, 2006
- a student
For a private school, Catholic High places too much emphasis on athletics and the arts program is almost nonexistant. I feel that it is most lacking a decent music program, which I think the students, parents, and many teachers would love to have. CHS definitely has a many dedicated personnel, but this is definitely not across the board. Overall the administration is far too concerned with superfluous things, such as the ever-changing uniform policy and other useless regulations than with truly maintaning and improving the academic quality.

Catholic High School 5

Posted May 22, 2004
- a teacher
I beg to differ with the comments stated previously (by the way, the correct spelling is excellent). You are right about the Math Department, but both the English and Science departments deserve recognition also. As a seventh year teacher in the English Department at CHS, I feel confident in knowing that the students are receiving what they need from our team of teachers.


Catholic High School 5

Posted September 10, 2003
- a parent
Excellant High School Math Program, English could use some improvement.Too bad there are no longer any nuns or brothers. Fine traditions, lots of family involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catholic High School
1301 Delasalle Drive, New Iberia, LA  70560
(337) 364-5116
Last modified Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 4-12
Catholic High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top