Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dodson Street Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 348 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2013

My name is Zachary i now go to Iberia Middle. My elementary school, Dodson, was A 5 STAR school to me. But since theres been 2 principles that has retired i really dont think there on the right path. The only thing i liked that nobody else liked on my last year over there was band. Mr. Ledger was a most strict band teacher but taught well. My main homeroom class was great! I loved my teachers whos name i will not say. But i loved Dodson. It is a very well recomended school to me.


Posted March 12, 2010

My son goes to this school and we have had nothing but problems with the teachers and staff. If you are in the area I would go with N. Lewis school over this school. We will be attending N. Lewis next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My grandchildren are in this school for 4 yrs now and I rate it more than 5 stars. The principal and teachers are fantastic and doubt you will find any like them anywhere in the United States. A++++ Thank you!


Posted October 28, 2007

I have 2 kids going to Dodson one is in 1st grade and the other is in 5th grade. My 1st grader is smart and picks up quick. My 5th grader struggles. I have no problems with my 1st grader as a matter a fact I did not have trouble with either child until this year. I feel like when a child that attends Dodson St. he or she is expected to achieve above the goal of an average child. I feel some teachers don't want to take time with children who need special attention or should I say they don't want to go above and beyond to help that child that needs just a little more help than the next child. This is only my experience with my son who is happy to be going to Lee St. School now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

I was a student at Dodson, I went there from Kindergarden to 6th grade (1995-2001). The People at Dodson was like one big family, including the kids and the teachers. I was in all of the many sports Dodson offered. Our teams were very talented with help from some of my favorite coaches. I'm in high school right now,and middle school or high school hasn't come close to how I felt about Dodson. Dodson is one of the best schools ever.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 27, 2004

My name is Ronni Gachassin and I was a student at Dodson from Kindergarten to the 6th grade.I loved Dodson.I will never forget the memories or the staff.They were the best! Mr.Leger was the best Principal you could ever ask for.(good luck with retirement)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2003

Dodson Elementary is of the best in Iberia Parish. My students get the best education, care, and safety. If there weren't Dodson I'm sure I'd be paying for a private school. Also, the quality of the parent involvement make this school even better. I can honestly say that it's a joy for my children to attend Dodson.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 49%
Black 18% 45%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:20
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Tim Rosamond
Fax number
  • (337) 364-1286

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

420 Dodson Street
New Iberia, LA 70563
Website: Click here
Phone: (337) 369-3738

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Epiphany Day School
New Iberia, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT