Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Rosary High School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $103,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

Holy Rosary Academy is a wonderful school. I have 2 children enrolled here and could not be happier. My children never complain about going to school. Ever. They love their teachers and you can tell the teachers love them. The teachers here are truly compassionate about what they are doing. Could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

Holy Rosary has been a wonderful location for my daughter to attend. She was once a C-D student that has now finished two years in a row on the A-B Honor Roll. The staff and administrators are outstanding I look forward to her finishing there for the next 5 years. Thanks for having such a wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

Not for leaning disabled. It is more like a reform school. The small perscentage of learning disabled students are left to listen to the teachers correct the large population of students that can go no where else. Administration of both schools are slow to move and generally give far too much lee way to students who need to be expelled.


Posted August 25, 2010

The school is a disaster, Its a school with poor education and poor athletics and a even worse staff. The school opperates slowly and in an unorginized fashion. At one point of time we spend 2 months going over fractions, By sending you child here you are not preparing them for the real world, you are setting them up to fail. Cause once you graduate. the only place that will accept you even as an honor student is the local community college. Dont ruin your childs chances of having a full and successfull life by sending them here


Posted April 21, 2009

Holy Rosary should not be a school where you send your child to. Its very expensive and your not getting a good education for your child. The Teachers are inexperienced. And the system is very unorginized. I am currently a student at holy rosary and i cannot say that i have really learned anything in my time here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2007

Holy Rosary Academy is an awesome school which concentrates on every aspect of a child's development. The Teachers and Counselors are very accessible and truly compassionate to the needs of each individual child. The school offers both a grammar and high school with dynamic teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

My son is doing very well in this school. I had him enrolled previously in a 'blue ribbon' school where he was given 2-3 hours of homework per day in 1st grade. I pulled him out and sent him to HRA since I believed this amount of homework was not only not beneficial, but harmful to students of this age bracket. My son now looks forward to school each day, is back to his happy-go-lucky self and is not only learning, but learning to love learning. H. Katrina necessitated our leaving this school for 2 years, but upon returning we found many of the same students, staff and faculty welcoming our family back with open arms. I have found that HRA is truly dedicated to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

We are parents that are extremely involved in the learning processes of our son. We are intimately familiar with how he learns and retains material presented. Our observations are these: Teaching, as it relates to learning at HRA, is not limited to lecture, memorization then testing. Teaching is not presented for those students who fit nicely into the middle of a bell curve. Teaching is directly correlated to understanding the material, but learning it differently. Simply put, it is helping children learn by exploring the use of multiple modalities to find the method that best suits the diverse learning styles of a student population with varying abilities and talents. We feel that HRA is not afraid to explore new ways to teach the same material and welcomes parental input on our son s learning style. The fact that he enjoys going to school is a lovely bonus for us all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

Holy Rosary Academy was the answer to a prayer for not only my son, but our whole family. It was such a relief to be able to send my child with ADHD and dyslexia to school and not have to constantly explain his differences to the teachers and administration. Holy Rosary accepts a child for who they are and enables them to develop self esteem. I believe that my child was able to learn well at Holy Rosary because the tension was gone. The teachers and staff were very caring. The parents group was wonderful and was a great support group. Holy Rosary is a school which meets the whole family's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

My son attended HRA last year and overall, the level of parent involvement at this school is enormous. However, it is unfortunate that most of the parents are unable to see how dysfunctional the school really is. I have been very unhappy with the response from the administration with regard to my questions and concerns about my son. Although the school boasts a low student to teacher ratio, this does little to help the students as many of the them have severe behavioral problems and the teachers have to spend their time controling these students. I would think twice before enrolling your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

Upon enrolling my son in HRA 6 yrs. ago I have seen dramatic improvement in his self esteem, motivation, pride and academics. Never before have we had the willingness or flexibility from teachers and administration to ensure our son's academic and social success. Traditional classroom settings did not work for my son. However, HRA's ability to work with individual learning styles has made the difference. Teacher inservices, technology upgrades, high parental involvement and the opening of its new high school, all contribute to the program getting better each year. I feel so fortunate for my son to be a part of this program. It has changed my family's life. We are looking forward to continued growth with Holy Rosary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

First, let me say that I served on HRA's/PTA board. The school's population has changed. Now, most students have severe behavioral problems (hit teachers, students). Neither school delivers what they promise. My child attended for 4 years. His I.Q. is high; he has ADD and dyslexia. We were assured he would be prepared for H.S. He was excited, liked the school, but the curriculum is 'dumbed down', so the students make A's and B's. In seventh grade he was scoring lower on HRA's standardized tests, than he did in 3rd grade! They have a huge teacher turnover rate and the majority are inexperienced. Parents remove their children when they realize what is happening. DeLaSalle H.S. is one of the few that is willing to take HRA students; your child must attend their summer school first and will be place in the BASIC program-not college prep. Examine HRA's program carefully!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

My son is considered a high functioning autistic child. I was told that this school does not want autistic child and that it is a school for learning disabilities not autism. And they will not even take them with 'shadows' paid by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

My grandson started this year in the 4th grade. He is excited to go to school each morning and sstarts his homework in the car on the way home. More important, because he is autistic, he has friends. This school was sent to us by God.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 44%
Black 35% 51%
Hispanic 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3368 Esplanade Ave
New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone: (504) 482-7173

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cabrini High School
New Orleans, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT