Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

De La Salle High School

Private | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $228,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2012

a great school does not allow an arrogant school official to demean the homecoming queen at the homecoming dance and then have the queen leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I really like this school! I like the fact that my daughter is being taught my first rate teachers and that the school is co-ed. De La Salle is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

I am a student at De La Salle and it is the best school that I have ever been to the teachers are great and students are great!!!!! GO CAVALIERS


Posted August 13, 2010

De La Salle Is The Best Catholic School I've Ever Been To. I thought It Would Be Just Like All The Others I've Attended, With Way Too Many Rules. But, I Was Wrong I Love It Here At De La Salle....I Will Keep You Updated Throughout My Further Years. (: ILoveeYouu! DLS!...Whoop-Whoop! (:


Posted April 2, 2010

I had 2 kids go to Dela salle , and they loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

De La Salle is open to everyone. Our school is like one big family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

Best, most dedicated band director in New Orleans High School


Posted October 3, 2009

De La Salle serves a diverse student population and focusses on the needs of the individual students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I really like the fact that De La Salle High School has an excellent band and music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I currently go to de la salle. I absolutely hate it. I love school just not this one. The teachers cant teach. They pick favorites and fail the hated. The guidance department is horrible. They do not seem to help at all. They dont even make me feel better. The administration thinks all the teachers are great and wont listen to anyone else. I do not think people should send their kids their if they want their kids to actually go somewhere in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

De la Salle could be a better school if they would get rid of some of the administration. The V.P is best administration has to offer its ashame that she is the only one who really cares about the students. The facuality has many great teachers as well but, because of the administration many of the good teachers were let go and the De La Salle administration should have never let them go and after being let go these teachers/coaches at other schools like Jesuit and Shaw. Finally note De La Salle did not prepare me for college at all so, as of now I can not give them a good review and would suggest to parents to send their children else where.


Posted October 7, 2008

The guidance department is the best in the city. My son was accepted to the top three of his choice. Thank you De La Salle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

De la salle is a wonderful institiution, i eneterd this school, as a jewish student thinking they would brainwash me. I was wrong. I now love my school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

This institution is unlike any in southeastern Louisiana . I live in Jefferson Parish and could send my child to any school in the parish. However i sent her to De La Salle for its Academic exellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

On a national scale De La Salle would be about 60%...great teachers but a really messed up vindictive administration. The administration keeps the school from being a great school. Choose another school. Most students that feel the school is great are only saying that because they have not attended any other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

The best school in the city. I was very fortunate to have attended this great school. There is a very familiar atmosphere. Th eteachers cared about us. I wanted to drop out of one of my classes but he wouldn't let me. He pushed me to my highest potential. The students there were veryaccepting, we were like a big family. The principal was very caring and very understanding. I believe the faculty adn staff were very fair. I would definitely reccomend this school. De La Salle Lead On!!!!!!!! I miss you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

De La Salle is a wonderful school. Not only is it an institution of fine teachers, modern and clean facilities, De La Salle offers an innovative curriculum and a caring and concerned administration. A De La Salle education is truly among the best educational values in New Orleans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

In the past few years, this school appears to be in decline. Many of the educational bright spots, such as a large variety of electives and activities, are disappearing. It might be possible for this school to return to it's past level of excellence, but it would require major changes in administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 47%
Black 20% 45%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5300 Saint Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 895-5717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Isidore Newman School
New Orleans, LA




Lusher Charter School
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT