Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 462 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2011

This school is very good for younger children and developing a good foundation for their educational future. However if you are a dedicated parent that have the time and determination to work with your child and do not need a lot of supervision or motivation this is not the school for you. The principle have a dictatorship mentality and do not promote free thinking or individuality. Most of their actions are aimed at the school's public perception rather than the actual betterment of the children's education. Both the parents and teachers are terrified of the principle and being kicked out of the school's alleged elite society. Educational Systems, principles, and teachers are here for the children's education and their future not the other way around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Post 2 of 2 The curriculum addresses both national and state standards. I know this because when my son evacuated to another state he was able to adjust quickly, academically, and socially. I know this is attributed to higher level critical thinking skills embedded in the curriculum. I see the collaborative efforts of the parents, teachers, instructional facilitators, and administrators to nurture and develop each and every child. Fortunately or unfortunately, testing is a part of life; ACT, SAT, GEE, and other professional examinations are here to stay. Preparation for high achievement begins early, as it lays a foundation for success in this rigorous, competitive, and global world of today. No longer, can we put our heads in the sand or 0hide under a rock while all other nations pass us by. The students of Lake Forest are the generation that will lead the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Post 1 of 2 As a parent of Lake Forest Charter School, I am excited about the accomplishments of Lake Forest s students, parents, teachers, and the whole charter school movement in the New Orleans area. Although intimidating for some, no longer do we need to accept complacent, indifferent, and mediocre teachers. Accountability begins in the classroom with the teacher at the center. Lake Forest strives to maintain a staff of innovative, energetic, and committed professionals because our children s lives are the future and we don t have the luxury of time to settle for less. I am convinced that every teacher is not a fit for Lake Forest. The high demands placed on teachers to provide a rigorous level of instruction on a consistent basis is sometimes more than a challenge for some. We set the standards high; our children are worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

Actually, I am a grandparent. My son is a graduate of Lake Forest and now his son attends there. I literally had to camp outside of the school on the neutral ground in order to get a spot for my son. According to my son, he too would camp outside if it became necessary. It's the kind of school where the teachers enroll their own children. I like that; you should too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

I am a former Lake Forest Charter School Eagle and I believe that this is a wonderful school.The reason that I feel this way is because I have left this school in 2 in search of something better and each time failed.Everytime I left I went right back at this time I am in anther state to see if its a better middle school,but also Lake Forest still seems to be the BEST! I feel that LFC has a great Pre-K though 8th Grade school and I Love it! Lake Forest has so many oppertunities and is a really nice school. It has its own pledge basketball team ( Boys and Girls), Chour group( who have beem proforming in and around New Orleans. They have been to the Elderly Home, Malls, and who klnows they might be some where around you one day. This is truely a Great school. : )
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2010

Everyone is absolutely correct. Lakeforest does have impressive test scores. However our kids are more than test scores. This school gives some sort of standardized testing every other week. Electives are taken away from the kids if the staff deem these test scores too low. I have never been involved with a school where the instructional facilitator can come in the class at anytime and trump the authority, leadership and lesson of the teacher. The principal always speaking about how the kids must do will. This school does not teach the or develop the whole child. If you are looking for a school with good test scores this is it. If you are looking for a school that gets your child excited about learning, that uses innovative methods to stimulate your child this isn't the school. This school stresses rote memory (not actual thinking/reasoning).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I feel that Ms. Early is a fairly good Principal, however it seems as though she is more concerned with high standardized test scores than her administrators and teachers providing a developmentally appropriate program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

In my opinion, Lake Forest Charter School has a great deal of potential, but should invest more in early childhood and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I feel that Lake Forest Charter school is doing a grave injustice to its students by not making strives to diversify the student demographics. Diversity is key to survival in this new, global, melting pot environment that we live in today. With globalization growing and our world rapidly changing, children must learn to adapt to behaviors and cultures associated with different ethnicities. Tolerance for what is different can never be achieved/learned when there is no or little diversity in an evironment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Lake Forest is a great school. I love everything about it. I think Mrs. Early is a wonderful principle and I love her values and the way she is so involved in getting the best for our kids. The teachers are all so great with the kids. Everyone inspires our kids to be the best they can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Lake Forest is one of the most academically challenging and goal oriented schools in the city of New Orleans. The entire faculty & staff are truly dedicated to ensuring that the kids are receiving a quality education. Their dedication has proven itself with the tremendous results of the schools tests scores year after year. Although I whole heartedly commend the administration on their efforts; I would like to see the school offer additional extra-curricular activites for the students to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I really like this school. It has great teachers, who teach you in an enjoyable yet enducational way. Also, the enviorment is very safe and clean.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2007

It has been 6 (six) months since we have visited the issue of the drop/off - pick/up policy for the students and I haven't seen any major improvements. The drop off isn't really as bad or as much a problem as the pick/up in the afternoon. I believe the teachers/staff are just a bit too lazy to improve the program. There are schools all over the country with great drop off/pick up policies and Lake Forest should really consider adopting another program or asking for suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

This year is my children's first year at Lake Forest Charter. This school is pretty good, but unfortunately there are no extra curricular activities at this time. Parent/teacher involvement is pretty good here. The teachers in which my children have has worked with me instead of against me. I have had problems in the past with teachers working against me which always turned me off that school. I feel that if I am trying to work with the teacher than the teacher should at least try to work with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

This is my son's first year at Lake Forest Charter overall I like the school but I also think there needs to be a better process with the dropping off and picking up. And there should be different sports teams and other activities that the children can participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

The school is so hard to get into, I thought it would be a little more challenging for the children. I like their attitude about learning, and the community. Over all I think it's a good school, my main criticism would be the dropping off and picking up process. (It needs a lot of help.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

This isn't the best school to go to, but it isn't the worst.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2006

I am elated to read that Lake Forest has improved its student/teacher ratio. I removed my son from there because the classes were very overcrowded. My son's classes, from Kindergarten through second grade, ranged from 25 (in Kindergarten) to 30 (in second grade). His second grade teacher had no classroom management skills and the class was chaotic everyday. I must commend Ms. Hartley and Ms. Guilyot for their hard work and compassion. Ms. Jackson was also an excellent parent liasion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Lakeforest is a great school. This school was a beacon of light for the New Orleans Public School System. My children currently attend other 'magnet' schools in another state, but none compare to the quality of instruction and genuine compassion that has been displayed by Lake Forest. Additionally, Lake Forest has consistently performed at the highest level in LEAP Testing. Louisiana would be crazy not to reopen this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Lake Forest is an excellent school and Ms. Early and her staff should be commended. My son already knows the work being given to him now. He is very advanced thanks to his education at Lake Forest. I look forward to him resuming his education there next school year. Thank You Ms. Early and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A67%
Male 44%N/A51%
Female 56%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mardele S Early
Fax number
  • (504) 248-7020

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 15095
New Orleans, LA 70128
Phone: (504) 826-7140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bricolage Academy
New Orleans, LA


Holy Rosary Academy
New Orleans, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT