Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 3

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Lake Forest is a good school, better for younger students. They expect a lot of students, which will prepare them for later on in the educational experience. There is lot that LFC can learn however. I find the middle school unstable and the students are not afforded opportunities to excel. I lot of time is spent on test prep and discipline , sometimes excessively and very antiquated. Middle school students are at a very vulnerable time in their lives, they need to be treated as maturing citizens capable of one day changing the world and not treated as stereotypical teens and stripped of identity and voice. I find that the staff harshly demands respect, without modeling respectful behavior. Also, if your child needs extra help, you would do better hiring a tutor. The instructors (most of them) do not contact parents regarding student's performance. Even though they utilize PowerSchool to post grades... It is not always up to date and often times you are caught off guard regarding your child's progress. I am a parent that communicates as often as my job allows. I reach out to teachers, but rarely is it reciprocated. I have given this school many years to get it right, but I am growing very weary.

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 3

Posted December 04, 2011
- a parent
This school is very good for younger children and developing a good foundation for their educational future. However if you are a dedicated parent that have the time and determination to work with your child and do not need a lot of supervision or motivation this is not the school for you. The principle have a dictatorship mentality and do not promote free thinking or individuality. Most of their actions are aimed at the school's public perception rather than the actual betterment of the children's education. Both the parents and teachers are terrified of the principle and being kicked out of the school's alleged elite society. Educational Systems, principles, and teachers are here for the children's education and their future not the other way around.


Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 5

Posted June 11, 2010
- a parent
Post 2 of 2 The curriculum addresses both national and state standards. I know this because when my son evacuated to another state he was able to adjust quickly, academically, and socially. I know this is attributed to higher level critical thinking skills embedded in the curriculum. I see the collaborative efforts of the parents, teachers, instructional facilitators, and administrators to nurture and develop each and every child. Fortunately or unfortunately, testing is a part of life; ACT, SAT, GEE, and other professional examinations are here to stay. Preparation for high achievement begins early, as it lays a foundation for success in this rigorous, competitive, and global world of today. No longer, can we put our heads in the sand or 0hide under a rock while all other nations pass us by. The students of Lake Forest are the generation that will lead the way.

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 5

Posted June 11, 2010
- a parent
Post 1 of 2 As a parent of Lake Forest Charter School, I am excited about the accomplishments of Lake Forest s students, parents, teachers, and the whole charter school movement in the New Orleans area. Although intimidating for some, no longer do we need to accept complacent, indifferent, and mediocre teachers. Accountability begins in the classroom with the teacher at the center. Lake Forest strives to maintain a staff of innovative, energetic, and committed professionals because our children s lives are the future and we don t have the luxury of time to settle for less. I am convinced that every teacher is not a fit for Lake Forest. The high demands placed on teachers to provide a rigorous level of instruction on a consistent basis is sometimes more than a challenge for some. We set the standards high; our children are worth it!

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
Actually, I am a grandparent. My son is a graduate of Lake Forest and now his son attends there. I literally had to camp outside of the school on the neutral ground in order to get a spot for my son. According to my son, he too would camp outside if it became necessary. It's the kind of school where the teachers enroll their own children. I like that; you should too.


Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 5

Posted January 09, 2010
- a student
I am a former Lake Forest Charter School Eagle and I believe that this is a wonderful school.The reason that I feel this way is because I have left this school in 2 in search of something better and each time failed.Everytime I left I went right back at this time I am in anther state to see if its a better middle school,but also Lake Forest still seems to be the BEST! I feel that LFC has a great Pre-K though 8th Grade school and I Love it! Lake Forest has so many oppertunities and is a really nice school. It has its own pledge basketball team ( Boys and Girls), Chour group( who have beem proforming in and around New Orleans. They have been to the Elderly Home, Malls, and who klnows they might be some where around you one day. This is truely a Great school. : )

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School
no rating

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
Everyone is absolutely correct. Lakeforest does have impressive test scores. However our kids are more than test scores. This school gives some sort of standardized testing every other week. Electives are taken away from the kids if the staff deem these test scores too low. I have never been involved with a school where the instructional facilitator can come in the class at anytime and trump the authority, leadership and lesson of the teacher. The principal always speaking about how the kids must do will. This school does not teach the or develop the whole child. If you are looking for a school with good test scores this is it. If you are looking for a school that gets your child excited about learning, that uses innovative methods to stimulate your child this isn't the school. This school stresses rote memory (not actual thinking/reasoning).

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I feel that Ms. Early is a fairly good Principal, however it seems as though she is more concerned with high standardized test scores than her administrators and teachers providing a developmentally appropriate program.


Lake Forest Elementary Charter School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
In my opinion, Lake Forest Charter School has a great deal of potential, but should invest more in early childhood and extracurricular activities.

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School 3

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
I feel that Lake Forest Charter school is doing a grave injustice to its students by not making strives to diversify the student demographics. Diversity is key to survival in this new, global, melting pot environment that we live in today. With globalization growing and our world rapidly changing, children must learn to adapt to behaviors and cultures associated with different ethnicities. Tolerance for what is different can never be achieved/learned when there is no or little diversity in an evironment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Forest Elementary Charter School
P.O. Box 15095, New Orleans, LA  70128
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (504) 826-7140
Last modified Lake Forest Elementary Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top