Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

International School of Louisiana

Charter | K-8 | 141 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $221,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2006

ISL provides not only a solid basic education program as demonstrated in the above average LEAP scoring, but it offers and educational perspective which nurtures the whole child. The music, art and sports programs are very diverse. The clubs and after school programs offer extended learning opportunities such as chess, sign language, science experiment projects, rugby, horticulture and more. The level of ISL parent involvement is one of the highest in the Metro area. In today's global society public schools such as ISL should be the norm and not the exception. The students of ISL will always carry with them a whole world frame of reference throughout their lives. ISL is truly a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

My daughter Rebecca has been with ISL since kindergarten in the French program and will enter the 3rd grade this Fall. My 5 year year old Aimee will enter kindergarten French this Fall. My husband and I are thrilled! We initially were a bot hesitant since we were unfamiliar with this type of immersion based school. Rebecca had been in a typical parochial school for Pre-K and we wanted the best for her. I am so glad we took the risk! Rebecca is thriving, her French accent is beautiful, her grasp of the language and ability to move back and forth from English to French is amazing. I wish I had had the same opportunity when I was her age. I know that they will have fabulous career opportunities upon graduation. Meg and Scott Greenfield
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

ISl is providing my daughter with the most enriching educational experience. It is a great place to learn and grow. I am so happy that she has the opportunity of the ISL experience. Laura Vagianos
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

ISL is wonderful! Most parents are a bit apprehensive about placing their child into an immersion school, as were we. However, my daughter is now in 2nd grade is does extremely well in Spanish and English. The teachers truely care as do the parents. ISL is very supportive and dedicated to its children and message. Despite Hurricane Katrina & any financial hardships I am as committed to supporting this school as they are to my daughter. She will be here until the end. I recommend ISL to everyone I know, beacuse it is truly hard to find a Very Good School, with participating parents, large diversity socially and racially, and not pay tuition.....dream come true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

My son started Kindergarten at ISL a month before the city was hit by Katrina. After the storm, ISL was the first public school, previously open in New Orleans, to reopen. The dedication of the administration and staff to the children is unmatched. The school had to reopen temporarily in Kenner, but remains committed to returning to New Orleans. Even with all of the Post Storm obstacles, ISL has kept their focus on providing a unique education to the children. My son is thriving ang is speaking Spanish well already. I was impressed that when he showed an interest in reading Spanish his teacher allowed him to begin learning to read without any pressure to do so. The parents are involved and committed. Involvement is encouraged. Parents truly treasure this school. The extracurriculars are great. My son is involved in Yoga, Soccer, and Circus Art. He is very happy at ISL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter has been with ISL since it's inception. She is fluent in French and can read and write in her target language. In addition, her level of English language instruction is above her current grade level. In addition to accademics, there is an arts and sports curriculum, clubs and after school activities. The luncheon program serves a very well balanced meal with no junk foods. The staff are all loveing and caring. This is a unique and wonderful school within Louisiana offering a free education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

My husband and I were initially somewhat apprehensive about enrolling our child in an immersion based program. While we wanted the benefits associated with learning a second language, we were uncertain as to how English literacy skills could be affected. However, within only a few short months, we were delighted to learn that our child's literacy skills had progressed to a level of high excellence in both French and English. In addition to the satisfaction we feel with our child's progress, we are equally pleased with the level of parental involvement and the overall uniqueness of the school. We now appreciate and understand the significance behind language immersion education and are happy that our child will benefit tremendously from it--now and for many years into the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

My daughter is in 3rd grade at ISL. We love it! She is truly thinking and learning in another language. The staff at ISL is exceptional. They are dedicated to the mission and spirit of this unique school. Parent involvement has been crucial to the success of ISL. The FTCO(Family, Teacher and Community Organization) is making great strides on behalf of ISL. Check out the website, isl-edu.org
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My son attends ISL and my daughter will attend this upcoming school year. We all love it! This is a very diverse school and the kids are really learning to speak in their target languages! I can't believe how much my son has grown since starting at this school. If you are looking for dedicated teachers and an exceptional staff at a school that has excellent parental involvement, this is the school for you and your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 45%
White 27% 47%
Hispanic 24% 4%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A67%
Male 47%N/A51%
Female 53%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sean Wilson
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (504) 654-1086

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Through the family teacher and community organization, parents are involved in many aspects of the school. from clean-up days, after school activities, fund raising.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Camp St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 654-1088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Alphonsus School
New Orleans, LA


Trinity Episcopal School
New Orleans, LA


Louise S Mcgehee School
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT