Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sci Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 410 students

Our school is best know for our college prep curriculum.

 
 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

This school has the most stupidest rules ever. The two rules that are very stupid to me are as follows: 1) you can not wear a "colored" undershirt it has to be black or white , my thing is that they should not be looking at what's under your shirt, what's under your shirt is your business, that's so shady to me. 2) The phone rule is absolutely stupid, if your phone is in your pocket and they happen to see the outline they are taking it, if it falls out of your bag they're taking it, and if it goes off they're taking it. When they confiscate your phone they take it for a long time, and their policy is that if anything happens to your phone they're not responsible for it. That is absolutely not right on so many levels. Sci also will sideline you for anything and I do mean anything. Sci pretends to be a "good" school but they're so wrong their rules suck , the food sucks, and I don't like them at all. I would not recommend anyone to bring their kids here to Sci. It's like being in prison with a good education.


Posted October 23, 2013

I came to Sci with low standards for myself. Sci teachers and staff showed me that EVERYONE can go to college if you want to. I am a senior this year at Sci and I plan on going to a private college and Sci is making sure that I have all the money I need to go all four years. I love Sci and I feel like no matter what your background is as a student. With hardwork and dedication you can succeed. ! The teachers praise you and raise you up and that is something I love about Sci. I started off being in the middle with grades and with Sci I have become one of the scholars in the top 10 of my class. Furthermore, they give you many opprotunities to become a leader. We have ambassadors and student government. I am cheer captain myself, however you can also be apart of the sports teams and clubs we do have. I highly reccomend Sci Academy to anyone stuggling with school, or someone wanting to challenge themselves. I LOVE SCI!!! C/O 2014 !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2013

This school is really awesome! This is my 3rd year at Sci, and since freshman year. I wanted to switch school because I thought this school was really strict. As the years go on, I had more experience with the students and teacher. They give me so much strength each day before I step off the bus in the morning. I can go to school with a negative behavior and as soon I get off the bus, my mood change really quickly because one simple action. I end up continue going to this school and I will finish my senior year at Sci Academy. The staff at this school show so much love and kindness to all scholars because when one rise, we all rise! Any students can come to Sci with a low reading skills or etc, but we will all go college. We set goals that is alittle complicated because they want us to challenge ourself. They are preparing us for college success. I am Sci Academy class of 2015! :) I love Sci Academy!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2013

Awesome and wonderful school I've seen on the wed site and from my daughter. May you never stop reaching for all your goals and dreams.


Posted August 22, 2013

This school is dedicated to academic excellence through the use of evidence base educational practices. The students are surrounded by structured, nurturing, supportive, environment that is conducive to exceeding their educational goals. I was very impressed with the level of commitment by the educational staff'.


Posted July 20, 2013

The teachers take the time out with the students that is neaweded so that why I think they all are awesome! !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

This is an awesome school. The teachers are very caring and don't give up on your kids if they have a problem. I highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Excellent school, Amazing dedicated teachers and staff. High standards commitment to students success and no excuses. Building tremendous parent and community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

This school is exceptional! The teachers give over 100% to the students. Every teacher is caring and kind. The school involves and welcome parents participation. This school is the best school I have ever sent my child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
57%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A67%
Male 42%N/A51%
Female 58%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school KIPP schools
REnew schools
FirstLine schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation LSU
ULL- Monroe
ULL-Lafayette
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French, Japanese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 5:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Benjamin Marcovitz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (504) 324-0171

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Internships
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French, Japanese
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
150
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
350
Students typically come from these schools
KIPP schools
REnew schools
FirstLine schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
LSU
ULL- Monroe
ULL-Lafayette
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 95%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5552 Read Boulevard
New Orleans, LA 70127
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 241-0037

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Miller-Mccoy Academy
New Orleans, LA



Bishop Mcmanus School
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT