Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
New Orleans, LA
Students enrolled: 410
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sci Academy 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a community member
This school has the most stupidest rules ever. The two rules that are very stupid to me are as follows: 1) you can not wear a "colored" undershirt it has to be black or white , my thing is that they should not be looking at what's under your shirt, what's under your shirt is your business, that's so shady to me. 2) The phone rule is absolutely stupid, if your phone is in your pocket and they happen to see the outline they are taking it, if it falls out of your bag they're taking it, and if it goes off they're taking it. When they confiscate your phone they take it for a long time, and their policy is that if anything happens to your phone they're not responsible for it. That is absolutely not right on so many levels. Sci also will sideline you for anything and I do mean anything. Sci pretends to be a "good" school but they're so wrong their rules suck , the food sucks, and I don't like them at all. I would not recommend anyone to bring their kids here to Sci. It's like being in prison with a good education.

Sci Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a student
I came to Sci with low standards for myself. Sci teachers and staff showed me that EVERYONE can go to college if you want to. I am a senior this year at Sci and I plan on going to a private college and Sci is making sure that I have all the money I need to go all four years. I love Sci and I feel like no matter what your background is as a student. With hardwork and dedication you can succeed. ! The teachers praise you and raise you up and that is something I love about Sci. I started off being in the middle with grades and with Sci I have become one of the scholars in the top 10 of my class. Furthermore, they give you many opprotunities to become a leader. We have ambassadors and student government. I am cheer captain myself, however you can also be apart of the sports teams and clubs we do have. I highly reccomend Sci Academy to anyone stuggling with school, or someone wanting to challenge themselves. I LOVE SCI!!! C/O 2014 !


Sci Academy 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a student
This school is really awesome! This is my 3rd year at Sci, and since freshman year. I wanted to switch school because I thought this school was really strict. As the years go on, I had more experience with the students and teacher. They give me so much strength each day before I step off the bus in the morning. I can go to school with a negative behavior and as soon I get off the bus, my mood change really quickly because one simple action. I end up continue going to this school and I will finish my senior year at Sci Academy. The staff at this school show so much love and kindness to all scholars because when one rise, we all rise! Any students can come to Sci with a low reading skills or etc, but we will all go college. We set goals that is alittle complicated because they want us to challenge ourself. They are preparing us for college success. I am Sci Academy class of 2015! :) I love Sci Academy!

Sci Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Awesome and wonderful school I've seen on the wed site and from my daughter. May you never stop reaching for all your goals and dreams.

Sci Academy 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
This school is dedicated to academic excellence through the use of evidence base educational practices. The students are surrounded by structured, nurturing, supportive, environment that is conducive to exceeding their educational goals. I was very impressed with the level of commitment by the educational staff'.


Sci Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a parent
The teachers take the time out with the students that is neaweded so that why I think they all are awesome! !!!!

Sci Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2011
- a parent
This is an awesome school. The teachers are very caring and don't give up on your kids if they have a problem. I highly recommended!

Sci Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, Amazing dedicated teachers and staff. High standards commitment to students success and no excuses. Building tremendous parent and community involvement.


Sci Academy 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
This school is exceptional! The teachers give over 100% to the students. Every teacher is caring and kind. The school involves and welcome parents participation. This school is the best school I have ever sent my child to.

Sci Academy 1

Posted February 18, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sci Academy
5552 Read Boulevard, New Orleans, LA  70127
(504) 241-0037
Last modified Sci Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sci Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top