Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Orleans Charter Science And Mathematics High School

Public | 9-12 | 366 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2013

Math and Science is a great school. The teachers and the rest of the staff genuinely care about students and want them to succeed. The school is now under FANTASTIC new leadership from former NOCSM teachers who understand the needs of their students and are willing to work with them to help them excel. With the Sci High administration becoming more stable this school can only get better. There is a great AP program, and the teachers work very hard to make sure students are prepared for AP exams (that all Sci High students get the opportunity to take for free) at the end of the year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2012

My kid excels here the teachers care about the students, only complaints i hear about is the cafeteria food.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Sci High is an open admissions charter school that believes every student can learn, has the right to a great education and the opportunity to attend college


Posted September 1, 2009

This is my first year at Math and Science and I love it. I'm a Junior and all of my teachers are amazing and my grades have imporved drastically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2009

I never would have been accepted into Northwestern University in Ill. if it were not for NOCSMHS. The teachers give personal attention to every student and truly care about their future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

The teachers that teach at the school are amazing!! Most of them have graduated from the top universitys in the country, their learning methods are easy to understand (and easy to absorb the knowledge). I am so grateful to have attened and decided to ctay at this school. I have compared this school to other schools in neew orleans and I couldnt find one that would provideme with the opportunities that this school has. They have helped me tremendously on finding scholarships, providing me with resources to internships for the summer, extensizve preperation for college, and as much as the teachers care about you succeeding it makes you want to learn and actually 'absorb' the material they teach, to use in everyday life. I recommend this school to everyone!! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

The teachers work with the students to help them understand the material. This is the greatest school in New Orleans by far
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2007

Math and Science is such an amazing school. the teachers are way involved with the students learning, and one of the best things, is the text books are used as less as possible. learning is more interactive. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2006

I am a 2003 graduate of Science and Math. I am graduating early from college and I have accepted a +47k job offer in Houston thanks primarily to Microsoft Certifications I received while attending Science and Math's technology academy. When employers saw the credentials I had attained in high school they were nothing less than stunned. It is my understanding that few high schools have certification programs of any type so I urge parents to send their children to N.O.C.S.M. to provide one of the best opportunities they may come across in their entire lives.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2005

The New Orleans Center for Science and Mathematics is an extraordinary school. The faculty and staff are very dedicated to the well-being of student growth academically and socially. The learning environment surpasses anything I have ever seen. Their hands on approach to teaching makes you feel like you are part of something real. I credit much of my success in the real world to this school's desire to motivate and educate the young people of New Orleans and abroad. Mrs. Barbara McPhee and her wonderful staff have done a brillant job. Way to go!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2005

My son has attended this school for two years now, and he loves it. The Teachers and Staff are wonderful! My son hopes to continue his training there until he graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

I am not a parent but an alumnus of this school. I really prepared me for college. When I began my first semester at Grambling State University I was tutoring students in trig. and chemistry and I know I couldn't have done this without the education I gained from this school. I am now a canidate for graduation Summer 2005 at Louisiana Tech University for masters degree in Industrial and Organizational Psychology. I thank all of my teachers for that experience and would recommend all parents to consider this school as a positive choice for you learning child. Oscille Joseph, Class of 1998, Home School- Alfred Lawless
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
78%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
43%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 45%
White 11% 49%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Alnita Porea
Fax number
  • (504) 309-4178

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5625 Loyola Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70115
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 324-7061

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lusher Charter School
New Orleans, LA


Isidore Newman School
New Orleans, LA


De la Salle High School
New Orleans, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT